The Reader Problems Book Tag Post


9549992

I’ve been tagged by Tony Talbot to answer some bookish questions.

Challenge Accepted!

You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I spend a lot of my reading life reading for challenges on Goodreads. I’ve read for cover colour, Author name, genre, pictures on the cover, you name it and I’ve probably read a book for that reason for a challenge.

You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

I try to persevere, I really do. I’ll put a book down if there’s loads of grammatical or spelling errors. Or if I can’t stand one/some/all of the characters. The most prevalent reason for books to end up on the couldn’t finish shelf is editing required.  I’ve got 13 books on my couldn’t finish shelf with the quantity of reading I do, that’s probably less than 1%.

The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your Goodreads Challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I always push to finish them. This year is my fifth Goodreads reading challenge. I’ve completed every single one of them so far. 🙂

The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I buy most of my books on kindle now, so matching covers aren’t an issue for me anymore. Previously… it’d irk me, but I’d deal with it.

Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I encourage as many of my non-reader friends to read it as possible and hope that they hate it too… since most of them won’t ever read it, I talk to them about how much I hated it! Then I’ll lurk about on Goodreads and look at the reviews, find the few people who might agree with me and send them a friend request.

You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Stop reading, think about something nice, read a little more until I feel like I’m about to cry and then pause. If it gets too much, I’ll flick to another book until I’m able to read (and cry) in private.

A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

In most cases I’ll read a few reviews, re-read my review of the first book and might skim through the book if I feel really lost. Then move onto the sequel.

You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

Again, since most of my books are on kindle – this isn’t a problem. I do have a number of books and I’m happy to lend them out, but only to people who I know will take care of them. If they damage my books – new copies are to be purchased and given to me instead. It’s a rule!

You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

This has never happened to me (well not five in a row). I would normally go to one of the authors I know writes really well and read one of their books. Get me back into the awesome book groove!

There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I rarely buy books these days. There’s plenty of authors willing to give copies of their books in return for a review. I review for Netgalley and on my blog. There’s also millions of books on Amazon kindle for free… so many books, too little time!

After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Ages usually. I constantly have a backlog of books to review, so it usually takes a seat behind those (unless it gets picked for a reading challenge). Some books have been on my TBR shelf for years. I’ll get there eventually.

I tag…

Tahlia Newland

Davetopia

Andy Peloquin

5 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Book Tag Post

  1. I accept your challenge! Post will be up on Tuesday on my blog.

  2. Thanks for taking up the challenge! Loved your answers!

  3. Nice questions and some really good answers… 🙂 If you want you can also check my Amazon gift cards Giveaway 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

