My review of Faelorehn by Jenna Elizabeth Johnson


136120183 stars

Read from December 22 to 27, 2013

Synopsis: I never heard him come after me and even as I climbed the slope and stumbled onto our shaded back lawn, I didn’t look back. It was like the day the gnomes chased me all over again, but this time I was not escaping some horrible little creatures, I was fleeing from an incredibly good-looking guy who could very well understand me completely. I was either saving myself from that serial killer I always imagined lived down in the swamp, or I had finally gone over the deep end . . .

Meghan Elam has been strange her entire life: her eyes have this odd habit of changing color and she sees and hears things no one else does. When the visions and voices in her head start to get worse, she is convinced that her parents will want to drag her off to another psychiatrist. That is, until the mysterious Cade MacRoich shows up out of nowhere with an explanation of his own.

Cade brings her news of another realm where goblins and gnomes are the norm, a place where whispering spirits exist in the very earth, and a world where Meghan just might find the answers she has always sought.

Bookish things: 228 pages, the cover is somethign else. I don’t really like it and I don’t really know what it has to do with the story.

Where to buy: Currently free on kindle or $8.09 at Amazon

My review:

Bookshelves: amazon-freebie, net-galley, 3-star-review, fantasy, insta-love, luck-o-the-irish, paranormal, something-missing, ya

You know that feeling you get when something sounds so good, that feeling of excitement and anticipation?

Yeah?

Well I had it for this book, big time. It sounded so awesome, the concept and the characters… Love!

It failed to deliver.

Like a number of the other reviews have stated, Faelorehn just doesn’t provide what the synopsis promises. The characters are fairly 2D, the story drags through boring day-to-day stuff and when things finally do start to happen, they were over so fast, that if you blinked you would miss them.

It is obvious that a lot of research has gone into this, but the reader barely gets a glimpse. The richness of the Celtic history and folklore should be evident, but it was missing.

I liked Meghan, I liked the idea of her group of friends too, but they were not real characters, they were just 2D concepts of characters with no flesh.

Cade was a different matter. I didn’t know him enough to even really form an opinion of him. I knew more about Fergus than Cade…

This book could do with another re-write. Add in the richness of detail that should be there, add in more character development and finish off this part a little more spectacularly and I think you would have a winner. As it is now, I’d rate it 2.5 out of 5.

2 thoughts on “My review of Faelorehn by Jenna Elizabeth Johnson

  1. I was thinking this sounded fantastic and had a good premise. I really like the idea, but I’m not sure what writers are doing with characters lately. I don’t mind the cover, I just think the author’s name should be in different font from the title 😉

    • Yeah, I don’t know where all the good characters are these days either. Seems to be a real shortage of them. I agree with you too Dianne, the authors name should be a different font.

Please Leave a Reply

