Review: The Beholder by Ivan Amberlake


thebeholder

3 stars

Read from May 12 to 22, 2016

Synopsis: Around the world, people die under mysterious circumstances. Each branded with an arcane sign, they are pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. When more people are missing, with similar signs appearing in and around their homes, Jason, an average New Yorker, realizes the victims are a riddle addressed to him.

He is the final piece.

Emily appears, the most beautiful woman with extraordinary powers and startling amber eyes, and tells Jason that powers dormant within him are about to wake. In the world of Light- and Darksighted, he is the only person who can prevent Darkness from enslaving the world. He is the Beholder whose advent has been awaited for many years.

Setting out on a journey with Emily, Jason discovers many improbable things like Sight, Soulfusion, the Hall of Refuge, but the greatest surprise arrives the moment he realizes he has fallen in love with Emily.

Bookish Things: 320 pages. The cover is lovely and eye-catching. This is the first book in the Beholder Series.

#0.5 – As I wake
#2 – Path of the Heretic

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $0.99 or paperback for $9.99

My Review: 

The Beholder is a tightly packed and well written fantasy story. It’s quite youthful in its tone, but its content is too adult for the Young Adult genre.

I liked the male protagonist, Jason. Especially his mental battle and emotional and personal growth. Though the Insta-love bothered me a bit.

Emily is an interesting character, but I am not sure what to think of her. She seemed a little too good to be true to start, the at the end… Well I just don’t know what to think.

The puzzles that still plague Jason at the end of the book were, rather annoyingly, what I wanted to know about, so I felt a little miffed about that too.

I can overlook it though, because the second Beholder book is available already.

I liked Ivan’s writing, I found that with his other book too, but I don’t know if I’d call this a thriller.

I noticed a couple of things:

5% – consistency issue: Jason arrived at the office in the morning for the meeting as he walked in, then worries about recounting the afternoon’s events with his boss.
60% – …saw himself as (a) character with a…

**Note: I was provided an electronic copy of this book in return for an honest review**

Please Leave a Reply

