Review: Republic by Lindsay Buroker


Republic

ReviewStars-4

Read from January 04 to 23, 2016 — I own a copy

Synopsis: After the notorious outlaws Amaranthe and Sicarius helped overthrow the corrupt faction controlling the empire and brought in a great war hero to lead the nation to prosperity, they finally earned their pardons–and some time off. A tropical vacation cruising around in a private submarine? Perfect. But their trip is interrupted by a summons from the new president: they’re needed back at home. Trouble unlike anything they’ve ever dealt with threatens to destroy the capital city and throw the fledgling republic into chaos.

The follow-up to The Emperor’s Edge series, Republic takes place a few months after the events of Forged in Blood I & II. It is a complete 210,000-word novel.

Bookish Things: 619 pages. This whopper of a book is the eighth in the Emperor’s Edge Series. I love the cover too.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $4.33 or paperback for $19.99 

My Review: 

Oh boy! Back into the Emperor’s Edge world with Amaranthe and Sicarius. I love these guys. I truly do.

I didn’t think I could get enough of them, but the length of this book did start to drag a little, especially with all the hoo-haa about the plant. It seemed a bit excessive.

I loved the story and most of the little plot twists and turns, especially some of the more personal hurdles the characters had to overcome in this one. It was a bit of a nice change from all the blowing up and madness that usually follows Amaranthe and the crew.

I also love the cross over between Lindsay’s Forgotten Ages series and I’m looking forward to the final book in the series.

This might not be one of the best in the series, but it’s still enjoyable and amusing as well as entertaining and engaging for the most part.

One thing I noticed:

69% – “All (delete all, add Are) you all right?”

Please Leave a Reply

