AWW 2016 Review: Kings Rising by C.S. Pacat


kingsrising

five-stars

Read from February 04 to 05, 2016

Synopsis: 

Damianos of Akielos has returned.

His identity now revealed, Damen must face his master Prince Laurent as Damianos of Akielos, the man Laurent has sworn to kill.

On the brink of a momentous battle, the future of both their countries hangs in the balance. In the south, Kastor’s forces are massing. In the north, the Regent’s armies are mobilising for war. Damen’s only hope of reclaiming his throne is to fight together with Laurent against their usurpers.

Forced into an uneasy alliance the two princes journey deep into Akielos, where they face their most dangerous opposition yet. But even if the fragile trust they have built survives the revelation of Damen’s identity – can it stand against the Regents final, deadly play for the throne? 

Bookish Things: 368 pages. This is the third book of the Captive Prince trilogy. I love the simplicity of the covers.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $4.48 or paperback for $10.87.

My Review: 

This trilogy had me chomping at the bit, dying to read the next line, the next chapter and the next book.

Pacat’s writing style is something of sheer beauty. It is simultaneously complex and yet utterly simplistic when it comes to understanding it. The layers of foreshadowing and deceit tangle together and create a cover of sorts over the fragile, yet fierce romance plot. I am in awe of it.

The story is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy and was everything and more than I’d hoped for to bring Damen and Laurent’s quest to a close.

My favourite chapters included soft and touching ones, to those in the heat of battle. The same themes and plot thrumming through them which pulled me ever deeper into the tangled lives of the two young Royal protagonists.

I’m giving this 5 stars purely because of my joy of the story, but I must say, the editing of the kindle version was rather appalling for a big publishing house. There were a lot of missed spacing and punctuation. Sentences lumped together, and even a typo. I expected more from Penguin. I’ve experienced better from Indie authors and freelance editors.

To sum up, this has been one of the most invasive, addictive, delicious trilogies that I have ever read. I loved the characters like they were real people, and despite being sad that the story is over, I feel that the ending was appropriate and concluded the story well.

I look forward to reading anything else Pacat creates. Do yourself a favor, and buy these books today!

Please Leave a Reply

