Review: Captive Prince Volume Two


CaptivePrinceVol2

five-stars

Read from December 01 to 06, 2015 — I own a copy, read count: 1

Synopsis: With their countries on the brink of war, Damen and his new master Prince Laurent must exchange the intrigues of the palace for the sweeping might of the battlefield as they travel to the border to avert a lethal plot. Forced to hide his identity, Damen finds himself increasingly drawn to the dangerous, charismatic Laurent. But as the fledgling trust between the two men deepens, the truth of secrets from both their pasts is poised to deal them the crowning death blow . . .

Bookish Things: 342 pages. This is book 2 in the trilogy, book 3 is scheduled to be released on 2 February 2016. My review of book 1. This cover is simplistic, some of the other covers are more detailed and have era specific items on them (swords etc). I like the subdued cover of this… it leaves so much room for the book to fill in the blanks.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $5.86 or paperback for $14.65

My Review: 

This! So much of this!

For the first time in a long time, I am left speechless after finishing a book. I feel as if I’ve been on an emotional pilgrimage throughout the Vere kingdom and have challenged the very core of my beliefs. I’ve changed as a reader. As a writer. As a person.

This is a truly masterful masterpiece. It captivates the mind, fills the senses with heady scents and teases the heart. If you can’t be overcome with some sort of positive emotions while reading this book then you must have been taking lessons from Laurent in the stone-heart department.

To place this into any one genre just cannot be done. It fits so many different genres, M/M romance, fantasy, romance, military… but it’s so much bigger than that. It has that nebulous thing that lurks within the next ‘big thing’, it has the makings of something truly amazing.

If there is a book that enslaves the reader to it more than this, I am yet to read it. Pacat weaves a delicious and equally elegant and insidious, layer of deceit into every action, every reaction and every liquescent word of dialogue in this book. The reader, like the characters, truly don’t know who they can trust.

In trying to articulate to non-reader and reader friends who haven’t read the books, why this book held such a sway over me, I explored this reasoning: that the characters in this book behave like real people. Cerebral and articulate people. People who can lie and still smile sweetly to the face of those they hate. People who can simultaneously love and loathe their situation yet come through it as a better person. And yes, I say person, because these characters feel so real that they are no longer characters on a page, but take on a life of their own inside the readers mind.

I would read, and when I stopped reading, I kept thinking about the story and the decisions that had been taken, plans and plotting that had transpired. It felt like I was part of the action. That fly upon the wall, taking in every tiny nuance. Experiencing things with Damen and Laurent (who I now also really love!) as they experienced it. I was transported to the front line, travelling with them, living with them, loving with them.

On that, how is it even possible that Pacat can make me hate Laurent with so much vehement hostility in book 1, but then make me fall in love with him in book 2? I mean that’s just unheard of, in all of my reading I’ve not had such a strong change of heart about a character. How did Pacat get into my head like that? Not to mention how much emotional anguish I shared with Damen at the conflicting emotions he felt. How can one make those types of decisions? How can a person get through denying a part of themselves? Or that moment when they realise that they’re just a piece of someone else’s game and by not denying themselves they’ve done exactly what was planned?!

Chapter 19… I have to mention this.

It is one of the best pieces of writing I’ve ever read. It was sinfully sexy, beguiling in its sensuousness and utterly gut-wrenching. How Pacat managed to do all of that in but a few pages of text is beyond me, and if I could possess even half as much talent in the writerly sense I will sell a lot of books.

I cannot recommend this series enough and now join the rabid ranks of fans eagerly awaiting the release of book 3 on 2nd Feb 2016.

Please Leave a Reply

