Review: The Bellamy Bird


TheBellamyBird

3 stars

Read from July 31 to August 03, 2015

Synopsis: Almbury Manor is the ancestral home of the Bellamy family who have a priceless heirloom, a golden statue known as the Bellamy Bird, a gift from an Indian Prince – solid gold and encrusted with precious stones, the Bird is quite priceless.

One Midsummer’s Eve in 1931 the statue is stolen, causing the downfall of the Bellamy family and the loss of Almbury Manor. Modern day siblings, Freddie and Jamie, descendants of the Bellamy family, go back in time to try to prevent the robbery and secure their family’s future with the help of some mischievous schoolboys, a group of sailing-mad children and boat called Lapwing.

Fans of Enid Blyton, Arthur Ransome, Agatha Christie and Richmal Crompton will enjoy The Bellamy Bird – from the author of A Bella Street Mystery: The Secret Formula and A Bella Street Mystery: Doc Gutson’s Revenge.

Bookish things: 238 pages. The cover is rather plain, but I think it works. It’s intriguing enough to make you wonder what the bird is, and holds its cards close to its chest.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $7.99

My Review: 

Bookshelves: gr-recommended, august-challenge, aussie-authors, aww2015, 3-star-review, indie-author, kids, mystery, ya

The Bellamy Bird is well and truly a Young Adult/Children’s mystery adventure book.

The writing is simple and the mystery quite light-hearted in nature. I enjoyed the turn of events that occurred, but felt that the overall tone of the book, coupled with the writing style was much better suited to the younger audiences. Some Young Adult books are readily transferrable to adults, but I didn’t find the same draw to this one as I have had with other YA books.

The main characters are two young children, Jamie and Frankie, male and female which means that the books is accessible for either gender, and their parents. Their parents (Nina and Tom) were strangely open to the ‘bizarre’, which felt a little odd to me, given they are parents, but had they not have been that open to the bizarre, the story would not have worked. So even though it didn’t seem to fit for me, it was a necessity.

The mystery was quite well documented, the red herrings laid and the thief hiding in plain sight. I felt at times I might have been reading one of the older cosy mysteries, as there was hardly any ‘negative’ aspects to the theft. So, if you’re an adult who enjoys light-hearted adventure mysteries akin to the Enid Blyton books (which I loved as a kid), or a parent of young kids, pick this one up and give it a try. Suitable for most youngsters.

A couple of things I noticed:
10% – I told you (you) has a much more fun childhood.
17% – …who Tom co(u)ld have told her…

Advertisements

Please Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s