Review: The Road by Cormac McCarthy


TheRoad

one-star-rating

Read from January 18 to 21, 2015

Synopsis: A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, an when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. they have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food–and each other.

The Road is the profoundly moving story fo a journey. It boldly imagines a future in which no hope remains, but in which the father and his son, “each the other’s world entire,” are sustained by love. Awesome in the totality of its vision, The Road is an unflinching meditation on the worst and the best that we are capable of: ultimate destructiveness, desperate tenacity, and the tenderness that keeps two people alive in the face of total devastation.

Bookish Things: 287 pages, the cover shows us nothing, except that The Times has no idea of what I like in terms of books.

Where to buy: I wouldn’t bother. If you’re interested borrow it from a library or someone who has already wasted their money. If you really want to buy it, Amazon have it on kindle for $9.40.

My Review: 
Bookshelves: the-list, summer-challenge, 1-star-reviewconfusing-as-hell, dystopian, editing-required, made-me-angry, self-destruct, something-missing, wtf-moments-galore

Let me start by saying…
description

I went into this book not really knowing what I was in for. I picked it because it fit in with a reading challenge I was doing.

description

The first thing to bother me was the really off-putting POV that the whole story was written in. I felt like a perverse stalker.

description

And let me tell you, things did not get better. There was pretty much no plot, no real characterisation, and nothing fundamentally exciting actually happened. Even when it got that that climax I felt nothing! Nothing for anyone.

description

Considering I normally have emotional reactions to books, this just went towards proving to me that this book did absolutely nothing for me.

My verdict:
description

But that’s not enough…
description

P.S If you want a rather more articulate, yet no less scathing review, check out Michael J. Sullivan‘s review.

What’s the last book you gave a 1 star review to? Share your thoughts below.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Road by Cormac McCarthy

  1. If you want a decent post-apocalyptic road-trip tale, try “The Fifth Wave”. Much more fun!

  2. Hmmm…I think the last book I rated one star was “The Road”…It sucks like a sucky thing on suck.

  3. Oh dear. I tried to read it but couldn’t get past the second page. You have a lot more patience than I do…

Please Leave a Reply

