Author Interview: Vanessa Skye


Welcome to the third author interview on my blog. Today you’ll see the Q & A of Vanessa Skye, independent author of five novels.

Say Hi to Vanessa Skye.

Say Hi to Vanessa Skye.

Vanessa newest book Koven will be released in eBook and Paperback on June 11, check out Amazon, Kobo, TWCS, Booktopia, Barnes & Noble, and Book Depository, or ask your local book store to order it in for you.

To whet your appetite for Vanessa’s books, she’ll answer 22 questions for you.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

If you were in a fight to the death, ‘The Hunger Games’ style, what would be your weapon of choice?

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

A psychic has just told you about your past life. Who were you?

These and other exciting questions answered by Vanessa Skye.

  1. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always, always loved books, and always had a very vivid imagination (which resulted in little Vanessa getting no sleep most nights. I must have driven my mother mad). So the two combined naturally.

  1. What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer?

You have to not take things personally—what you write is not going to appeal to everyone. But the most important thing is that you must write for yourself. The minute you start writing to appeal to other people, it all goes to hell.

  1. What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I read! I usually have two or three books on the go at once.

  1. A psychic has just told you about your past life. Who were you?

I’ve done quite a lot of past life work actually. I was hung as a witch once, which was unpleasant. I wasn’t even a witch!

  1. You are now in charge of the dictionary and need to remove five unwanted, overused or otherwise irritating words from our language. Which do you choose and why?

The next person who says ‘totes’ to me can expect a bullet. Please also get rid of YOLO, and in fact all text speak. If you can’t spend a second spelling out a word properly, don’t text me!

  1. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

Love yourself, because looking for your self-esteem in others is a recipe for unhappiness.

  1. What is your favourite character from one of your books? Why?

I can’t go past Berg in my crime fiction series. She rocks. She’s strong, tough, funny, smart, but she has a dark side and kicks serious ass.

  1. Your new best friend is a character from a book you’ve read. Who will it be, what book, and why?

I love Claire Fraser from the Outlander series. I think Sassenach and I would be fast friends.

  1. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

I am writing a YA fantasy series at the moment and I am loving it! When the story and the words are coming together, there’s no better feeling.

  1. Tell us about your writing style. Do you sit down and write for large blocks of time or do you flit around on different projects? Why do you think this is?

I have three days a week only where I can write without my two small children underfoot, so I try to write from 9am to 4.30pm those days. I don’t have much of a chance any other time.

  1. What genre would you like to try your hand at and why?

I’ve tried crime fiction, paranormal romance, romance, erotic thriller, and now YA fantasy. I’m not sure what’s left! Maybe self-help?!

  1. Your all-time favourite book?

I cannot possibly answer that question! Magician by Raymond Feist maybe?

  1. Tell us about your writing space (study, cafe, office?)

Laptop, on my lap, wherever I can set it up.

  1. What is your favourite scene from your books?

The aircraft hanger scene in Bloodlines (the last book in my Edge of Darkness series) was beyond fun to write. Berg wrecked the place! Don’t make her mad!

  1. What ‘must read’ books would you recommend that everyone read?

Magician by Raymond Feist.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

  1. Do you think e-book readers will eventually supersede books?

For certain genres, yes. There is something wonderful about always having a bookshop at your fingertips, and thousands of books in your handbag. But some books, like coffee table books, picture books, DIY, and books heavy in imagery, will always need to be printed.

  1. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

This kind! It doesn’t matter how much money I have, I will always write books, it’s what I love.

  1. If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional. Who would it be and why?

JK Rowling. It must be pretty amazing in her head.

  1. What would you say is your primary source of inspiration?

Music, and my imagination.

  1. If you were in a fight to the death, ‘The Hunger Games’ style, what would be your weapon of choice?

Bow and arrow. I have no idea why!

  1. Tell us about a vivid childhood memory.

Real life, for me, is duller than what is in my head. I couldn’t tell you much about my childhood actually, but I could tell you about all the stories I made up! Like when I thought my parents might be aliens and would take off their human faces at night, to reveal lizard faces underneath. I always made sure to make a lot of noise when I went out to see them after I’d been put to bed, so they had time to put their faces back on. Hence the no sleep for much of my childhood.

  1. In light of the current trend for books about the Paranormal, what sort of paranormal being would you like to be and why?

Vampire! My answer to this question will always be vampire. There is no downside!

  1. Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions

Pleasure.

Vanessa’s books:

Koven

 

Check out Koven on Goodreads, or find out more about Vanessa Skye’s crime fiction Edge of Darkness series at www.vanessa-skye.com.

To celebrate the release of Koven, Vanessa’s debut crime fiction novel, The Enemy Inside,eBook will be only US99c for the month of June 2015! Get it here!

 

TheEnemyInsideBroken_Low-Res_CoverBloodlines-Hi-Res-Cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stay tuned for another Vanessa Skye related post tomorrow. My review of Koven going live on publication day!

Please Leave a Reply

