Review: Black Beast by Nenia Campbell


BlackBeast

3 stars

Read from November 03 to 05, 2014

Synopsis: She walks the line between the hunter and the hunted.

Vampires want her blood.

Witches consider her less-than-human.

Slayers simply want her dead.

As if being in high school wasn’t hard enough, Catherine Pierce has to deal with a whole other set of problems that arise from being a shifter that hasn’t settled. Because after puberty, shifters are supposed to stop changing–and Catherine, well, hasn’t.

Even among her own kind, Catherine is regarded as a freak.

To make matters worse, she’d caught the attention of the witches’ Council because they think she’s been dabbling in dark magic because of a stupid old book that popped up at her work. And she’s been having nightmares about a terrifying man who calls himself the Shadow Thane and plans to end the world in a burst of darkness and dragon fire.

Just in case that wasn’t enough, a branch of Slayers are infiltrating Catherine’s town, under the guise of a community youth group called Sterling Rep.

Times are changing and that means, for Catherine, it’s time to Change.

Bookish Things: 159 pages. The cover is delightful. I love the intensity in the girls eyes.

Where to buy: Smashwords for $2.99 and Amazon on kindle for $3.07

My Review: 

Bookshelves: awesome-authors, indie-author, smashwords-review, goodreads-review-req, indie-review-copiesnovember-challenge, spring-challenge-2014, fantasyparanormal, vampires, ya, 3-star-review

Have you ever had the feeling when you read something that perhaps the author loved all things paranormal so much that they wanted to cram as many different paranormal beings into one book as they could?
No?

Well I’d have to say this is what Nenia tried to do here. It left me thinking along these lines:

Shifters and witches and vamps – Oh My!
description

The influx of Otherworld characters aside, the story was an interesting one. There was a lot of exposition and world building that I think was a touch too long, if I were editing this and the next book (that I haven’t read yet) I would probably cut half of this book and smash it together with book #2 and call it the first book.

Aside from one really important scene with said deranged witch from the synopsis, much of the rest of the story was building characters, relationships and background. There’s info dumping galore, which kind of irked me.

description

Ok, let’s get back on track here – This book is the first in what is currently a 5 book series (4 novels and one novella – PS, don’t check out the synopsis of the novella if you haven’t read the rest of the books first – it totally starts with a spoiler! FAIL)

The synopsis of Black Beast drew me in, but I felt it gave me a skewed idea of what was going to happen in the book. Nenia’s tiny blurb in her ‘review’ of the book is far more to the point and accurate. I think a review of the synopsis could be in order.

My favourite character was David, which seems to be a little off kilter with the rest of the reviewers. I didn’t love or hate Finn, but I have a feeling I’m funnily going to enjoy his role in the next books… I’m messed up like that.

description

Will I continue to read the series? Hell yes! Even if it’s just to read the deranged goings on between Finn and Catherine as the series progresses.

Some things I noticed:

19% – The woman’s large brown eyes were made large(r) by her…
29% – with her lucks (delete the s)
58% – but either the witch didn’t hear… Repeated paragraph twice.
64% – It (delete it, add If) it was a real emergency…
77% – how many of these fundraisers… Repeated paragraph twice.
87% – …shift (into) something small,” she…
95% – I’m more concerned about (what) you’ll do…

**Note: I was provided an electronic copy of this book in return for an honest review**

Please Leave a Reply

