Think fiction writing and journalism are the same thing? Think again.


Having completed schooling in Journalism, I agree with this whole-heartedly. However, soft news pieces can be a happy medium.

Vanessa Skye, Author

Become-a-writer

I’ve always wanted to write books. For as long as I can remember, even when I was very small, books were it for me. One of my earliest memories is when I was three or four. I used to carry around a thick, bound book I have no idea what it was!) with nothing but words in it. No pictures, just words that I couldn’t read. I used to sit down and ‘read’ it, i.e. try to imagine what the words I couldn’t read said.

So, back in the nineties when I was deciding what to study at university, I picked journalism. I figured I would do the degree, learn to write, and then multiple bestsellers would ensue. Right?

Wrong! I knew so little about writing that I didn’t realise that the accepted journalistic writing style was worlds apart from fiction writing.

I’ve been a journalist off and on for…

View original post 809 more words

Please Leave a Reply

