How to Get Your First Draft Done


Some good tips and tricks… Now if only I can take that advice and finish this first draft!!

Spilling Ink

First drafts.  Love them or hate them, we all have to do them. These two tips may help you get yours done.

Haters Gonna Hate

Plenty of writers find first drafts a huge chore. Joyce Carol Oates, quoted below, seems to fall into the hater category.

Joyce Carol Oates Quote Quote created with Quozio.com

No doubt about it, first drafts are hard work. Forming something out of nothing is always going to strain the brain. Even God needed a day of rest after a bout of creativity.

Experience First (Draft) Love

Other writers find the process energising. I happen to fall into that category. Getting lost in my imagination is such a buzz. I can “see” the new story unfold in my head, and it’s as if I’m in a cinema, watching the action. Except, in this case, I’m not a passive viewer. I supply the choices and make the decisions. Maybe it’s more…

View original post 747 more words

3 thoughts on “How to Get Your First Draft Done

  1. My favourite piece of advice for first drafts is this:

    They don’t need to be perfect; they don’t even have to be very good. They just have to be written.

Please Leave a Reply

