UnEarthed ~ a Young Adult Dystopian


UnEarthed

3 stars

Read from December 28 to 31, 2013

Synopsis: If you’re going to colonise a planet, you’d better be willing to fight for it.

Within Anphobos, there grows a new race. The first generation of humans never to set foot on Earth. They are pale skinned, large eyed and worship no god but science. They possess technological skills and processes Earth has refused to acknowledge. Until now…

“We are Martian. Your religion isn’t ours. Our god is Mars. Our religion is science. Anything we do in the service of Mars, is good. Make no mistake, Earth girl, we are both right and good.”

Fresh off Earth, Jodi Scarfield doesn’t really care for Mars or its politics. Still, accusations of treason will get a girl’s attention…

Bookish things: 160 pages, this book left something missing from the story. I love the cover, it ties in nicely with the story.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $3.73 or Smashwords for $2.99

My review:

Bookshelves: net-galleyaussie-authorsaww20133-star-reviewsci-fisomething-missingya 

Going into this one I was thinking aliens were going to attack humans on Mars, that’s what I got from the blurb, yet that is not what the tale is about. I think the blurb needs to be rethought to avoid confusion on the readers part and potential lower ratings due to attracting the wrong audience.

I quite enjoyed Jodi’s sense of humour and her thought processes. As an IT person, I got quite a bit of a kick from that side of the story. I loved being thrust into the tech side of things.

Rest assured potential readers, you don’t have to be a tech-geek to enjoy this story though. You are provided with plenty of information (without geek-ese) so you can understand what is happening.

Our antagonist… Well that was a bit of a surprise. I put things together before Jodi did, but that didn’t mean I expected what happened. Woah! Talk about crazy!

I felt that we needed more perpetration before Mars, things were a bit rushed. This meant I was only just getting to know Jodi when all these we characters were thrown in. I wanted more of Jodi and Ellie’s relationship too.

I also wanted more from the whole Mars experience. I felt I didn’t get a full picture of what Jodi was experiencing. It was almost there, but not quite right…

The writing was fairly plain English and would be easy for most YA readers. There were no typos or problems that I saw and I really like the cover.

**NOTE: I got this as an electronic ARC from NetGalley.**

5 thoughts on “UnEarthed ~ a Young Adult Dystopian

  1. This sounds like a great premise for a novel and I also love the cover.

    This line should go out to all writers (particularly me) “I think the blurb needs to be rethought to avoid confusion on the readers part and potential lower ratings due to attracting the wrong audience”. So true! 😉

  2. Sounds like a good book! And I like that cover, very evocative.

Please Leave a Reply

