My review of Fearscape by Nenia Campbell


Fearscape

ReviewStars-4

Synopsis: He followed her because he wanted to own her. She trusted him because she wanted excitement. There’s a saying that curiosity can kill … but Valerian Kimble is beginning to learn that satisfaction might just be worse.

Fourteen-year-old Valerian lives in an age where antiheroes and bad boys are portrayed as the romantic ideal, and good guys are passe and boring. So when Gavin Mecozzi, the school’s brilliant but twisted loner, begins to show an interest in her after a chance meeting in a pet store, Val is intrigued. He’s charming and poetic and makes her feel things that she thought were only possible in books–

Fear.

Because somebody is stalking Val. Somebody who wants to hurt her. Own her. Possess her. Maybe even kill her.

As her meetings with Gavin unravel into a more complex and frightening relationship, Val can’t help but wonder if the new boy in her life is her depraved and obsessive stalker.

And whether he’s capable of murder.

Time is running out.

Bookish things: 165 pages. The cover is quite striking with the black and white floor in the background. I probably would have liked to see some more colour in it though. The first of a series (currently four books), this one is a great introduction to Nenia’s writing style.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $1.98 or on Smashwords for $1.99 in various formats.

My review:

What a ride.

Nenia sure can weave a wicked little tale. I could feel myself being lured into the web just as surely as Val was, each step a calculated move to make her react in the way desired.

So very evil and calculated.

I liked Val, but she was a bit too sweet and innocent for me to really bond with her. I get why she was like that, but it still bothered me a little.

Gavin is an interesting character. So slick and creepy and brilliant. I can totally picture him in my mind, the slightly icy glint in his eyes as he dissects your inner thoughts right before your eyes.

The villain was a brilliant and down-right scary character, there are so few of them in stories these days, that when you come across a good one (or a decidedly evil one) you kind of savor them like a fine wine. This villain gave me chills and the made me cackle like a witch at how amazingly evil and yet amazingly awesome they are. Well done Nenia! Well done!

I loved the psychological thriller aspect, the mental play and the way Val was toyed with. All very creepy.

Where things fell down just a touch was the editing. Another pass through by an editor would do this justice, missed words, extra words, wrong word choices were sprinkled throughout. Just enough to snag my attention and draw me out of the scene.

If this was fixed, easily a 5 star book. If you are after a creepy psychological nail-biter, pick this one up today.

4 thoughts on “My review of Fearscape by Nenia Campbell

  1. Adding this one to my TBR!

    • You’ll have to let me know what you think Tony! I do know that the further into the series you go, the darker and more taboo the subjects. I heard from Nenia that the third or fourth book was removed from Amazon for content violation. Luckily it is on Smashwords so eager readers can still read it!

  2. it must be so disappointing when you’re marked down because you didn’t take the time to get a good editor. I can feel the frustration here. But the book sounds really good 🙂

    • Yeah, sometimes it just gets in the way of my reading, other times not. Nenia is a very active social media focused author, so I’m sure she had plenty of beta readers go over it, there’s always errors missed. Still a great read though!

Please Leave a Reply

