Flesher – a dip into the world of zombies


Flesher

ReviewStars-4

Read between October 7-9 2013.

Synopsis: Ashleigh Starr, known as Ash to all but one, carries a dark secret, punishable by a fate worse than death. In an apocalyptic world where humanity has been invaded by a new virus for years, Ash bears the burden of a forbidden love on her shoulders, the forbidden love of one of the Infected, those her people call the Fleshers. Fleshers, unclean beings who are believed to be cursed and punished by their desire to feed on human flesh and blood. Ash spends her days exploring in the abandoned city outside the walls of her village and gathering bandages for the man she loves, the man who becomes a flesher at night only to return to human form at morning. Her only protection from the laws of her village comes from her ability to keep Garrett a secret in her home and from her blood, which is immune to the fleshers’ bite and blood.
But the day Ash is given a treatment for Garrett is when their secret love is threatened by the future leader of her village. With two newfound visitors from the outside, Ash and Garrett escape into the land of the undead seeking a way to turn their treatment into a cure. But they are pursued by Lucius, the bloodthirsty future leader, who vows to have his revenge on Garrett for past wounds. And he won’t stop until he’s killed Ash and felt her immune blood on his hands.

Bookish things: Approx. 306 pages, the cover is quite striking even though it looks like it may have been done on a budget.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $3.91 or in paperback for $19.56

My review: Ok, so I am not usually a zombie fan. Anything that can reanimate itself once it’s dead is oober creepy in my books. Having said that, I still found Flesher to be rather intriguing and very complex in its plot and sub-plots.

Fleshers – so called because they desire to eat unblemished human flesh. Not brains as so many other zombie stories have told us, but the flesh itself – can smell unspoilt flesh and flock to areas where humans have barricaded themselves in.


Helloooo…

I think the slow moving, dumb zombies have been done to death in Hollywood of late, but Emily made things a little different. I think she’s got a good mix of traditional zombie and World War Z zombie. They’re called ‘runners’ and they are scary as all shit! Not all groaning slow masses for these characters, nuh-uh!

Throw into the mix the fact that what the survivors are doing to themselves and others is far worse than the initial outbreak of zombie-ism, and you have a rather dark and sinister world.

In saunters Ash (if you call her Ashleigh you might just get a poke in the eye with a sharp stick), the female lead.


And she’s one badass zombie fighting machine! She’s the Katniss Everdeen of Zombie infested USA, she’s the Harry Potter of killing dead things, she’s the Sarah Connor of zombies. In short, she’s totally awesome.

She’s also a little flawed and imperfect, just the way we like our leading ladies. The thing with Ash is, I liked her, I even secretly and not so secretly rooted for her as I was reading, but I wanted to slap that pretty little face raw every time she opened her mouth and started spewing doom and gloom.

I get it, I truly do! But OMG, shut the fuck up every now and then and let other people say some shit. Oh wait, she does…

For swoon-worthy, yet complicated Garrett. (I don’t even really know what he looks like perhaps I missed that memo?!)

The blurb to the book spills the beans on his baggage, but in the mix of all the Dawn of the Dead and World War Z, you get a little bit of Warm Bodies and it melts your heart in a slow, kinda icky way.

Things for me, got really interesting when we were taken outside of Ash’s little town, I simply adored the exploration of her abandoned city and when things started to get a little more complicated the enjoyment level went up too.

I notice that this is book one in a series. I hope to God that book two is already being written coz I want to know what the hell happens now.

Pick up Flesher today and go for a zombie infested ride with Ash and Garrett. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

A few things I noticed:

6% – ‘…the sixe (size) of my middle…’
‘…would they gave though (thought) to preserve…’
7% – ‘…while he keeps a hand pressed to his (delete his, and add the bitten one) in order to…’
12% – full stop missing at the end of chapter three.
33% – ‘…is she yourfriend? (space required)’
37% – ‘I have (to give) it to Garrett…’
38% – ‘…I want you to say (stay).’
42% – ‘…but my knees to (delete to) start to buckle.’
44% – ‘I know he (delete he) exactly where to go…’
50% – ‘S he (She) urges me, and I see…’
57% – ‘…from getting to (too) close to the kids.’
73% – ‘…whisper across (my) cheek on…’
83% – ‘…not found another too (to) rival the beauty…’

Have you read any good zombie books? Share your suggestions below, I’m keen to read some more shuffling, groaning adventures with the undead.

9 thoughts on “Flesher – a dip into the world of zombies

  1. I haven’t read any zombie books, but loved World War Z so I may have get my hands on this one 😉

  2. I’ve never been one for zombies – the closest I’ve got to them is 28 Days Later!

  3. I haven’t read any zombie books before but I may have to check this out. I watched Warm Bodies and actually kinda liked it haha.

Please Leave a Reply

