Rainy Days by Victoria Zagar


RainyDays

2 stars

Read between October 3 – 6 2013.

Synopsis: When Michael Williams helps stranded motorist Ashley Fallow, little does he know Ash will make him question everything he’s been taught about what a man should want. Michael’s a married man, though – not the greatest partner for a man like Ash who just wants to settle down.

The chemistry between them is undeniable and leads to a one-night-stand, which soon blossoms into a full blown love-affair. Michael struggles to keep his family afloat while seeing Ash on the side. Ash brings some baggage of his own to the relationship; secrets that could draw them closer or drive Michael away.

Torn between his family and the man he loves, Michael must choose between them or risk losing everything. But it’s not so easy to just leave his stormy marriage when his seven-year-old daughter Taryn smiles up at him. His wife Michelle may be selfish at times, but she genuinely loves Michael despite their problems. Ash is ready to leave for California if Michael can’t commit. Michael knows somebody will get hurt, but it’s too late to walk away. He knows he must face up to his feelings and the consequences if he’s to achieve any real happiness, but that’s easier said than done in small-town America.

Bookish things: 217 pages of M/M romance, the cover is fairly basic and looks like it was created on a budget.

Where to buy: Amazon for kindle ($6.55) or in paperback for $11.64.

My Review: Rainy Days was a very busy story. Lots happened in Michael and Ash’s lives, I would argue, too much happened. Even though the timeframe was quite long (around a year or so all up) there just seemed to always be something catastrophic happening in their lives.

I liked Michael and Ash to begin with, but their ‘woe-is-me’ attitudes grated on my nerves quite a lot as the story progressed. They certainly had reasons to be down, but their reactions seemed too processed, too text book and too obviously sculpted to fit with the plot line.

I hated Michelle, but then, that was point. The kicker in the tail to get you to like her or feel bad for her was too little, too late in my eyes. All the shit throughout the story is not erased because of one incident down the track.

I mention it below in the things I noticed, but I will elaborate here. The sex scenes were very repetitive and got boring. The two boys were always doing the same things, it was very basically described and the same language was used for almost every sex scene. I’m not saying to go out and buy a thesaurus and then rape it, but spice up their sex life, spice up the language used and you would definitely spice up the story!

Ultimately, the story was ok. I wont rush out to buy more of Victoria’s work, but if I came across some more, I would read it.

Some me things I noticed:

1% 9 o’clock shadow, isn’t it a 5 o’clock shadow?!
5% – ‘…voice was think (thick) with emotion…’
15% – ‘”you’re not. “(Delete “) I invited you.”‘
24% – same sex scene over and over. Boring!
29% – ‘He left (let) out a derisive…’
57% – ‘…stifling heat i (in) the hospital.’
79% – ‘…were finally allowed int (in to) the…’
91% – ‘sometime’s (someone’s) definitely inside…’
95% – ‘”Michelle, move. (“) Michelle moved…’

**Note: I was provided with an electronic version of this story in return for an honest review**

9 thoughts on “Rainy Days by Victoria Zagar

  1. Great review…the synopsis sounded like it had the potential to be a very interesting read…I may still give it a go sometime…

  2. {chortling} “…go out and buy a thesaurus and then rape it.”

    I have to use that line!

    Because of the cover, it didn’t occur to me that it was M-M – the character facing away looks female with the long hair. Perhaps that was the point. I quite like the cover, actually. Reminds me of 50s comic books, film-noir with the long shadows and the muted purple of the woman’s dress.

  3. Yet another great (and very honest review).

Please Leave a Reply

