Edge of Darkness week – Broken by Vanessa Skye


Part two of my Edge of Darkness week is my review of Vanessa’s second book in the series – Broken.

Broken-Small-Blog-Tour-Banner

Broken is scheduled for release this week (13th of February) so if you haven’t read the debut novel in this series – The Enemy Inside, you should pick it up today.

Keep an eye out for Vanessa’s guest post later in the week, as well as an interview and details for a giveaway (a Rafflecopter giveaway) to win copies of both books!

Broken_Low-Res_Cover

ReviewStars-4

Synopsis: A mother is murdered in an apparent robbery.

A young woman is raped and beaten in a home invasion.

Chicago Detective Alicia “Berg” Raymond doesn’t believe in random crime and is certain both cases are more than they seem—but can she trust her instincts, or is she too distracted by the feelings she has for former partner and new boss? For Berg, the need for justice burns deep and fills the emptiness where therapy and relationships fall short.

She’s certain the husband knows more than he’s willing to admit, but the trap to catch the killer is the loophole that sets him free.
The rapist is caught and sent to prison, but when Berg gets closer to the family devastated by his depravity, their behavior doesn’t add up.

As Berg fights to prevent another murder, she crosses the line between hero and villain—and there’s no turning back.

Bookish Things: Approx. 369 pages of intense thriller. Again, the cover has a delightfully gritty appearance that ties in nicely with the story.

Where to buy: The Writers Coffee Shop offers this book in paperback for $11.99, Amazon also has it on pre-order for $18.04.

My review:

The second book in The Enemy Inside series from Vanessa Skye, Broken, leads the reader willingly to the slaughter-house only to be rudely shocked when things go awry. And awry they seriously go.

I liked the insights into Berg’s thinking this time. The way she thinks and nuts things out really sing to me as a reader as being very realistic. I drew the same comparisons and came to the same conclusions she did with the same information, it meant I was left with a strong sense of camaraderie with her as a character.

I will be honest – the Jay/Berg thing was kinda getting a little annoying towards the end. I wanted to shake them and tell them to buck up and be adults…

My thoughts on the ADA: I hated her and felt that her characterisation was as such that it pigeon-holed me into not liking her. I wondered how the relationship with her could have even begun given how horrible she was, it felt a little too cliché to me, I’d have liked to see her be a little more likeable, at least to the reader so that they feel a little bad for backing Berg.

So many things that happened in this book were more personal, this made it an entirely different book to read. I liked the level of personal vs professional that was in The Enemy Inside, this time it felt a little like I was reading Berg’s diary, which is why this didn’t get a 5.

The crime aspect seemed a little rushed, instead focusing on the emotional reactions Berg had to certain people and events. While I understand that that’s important, I felt that it drew the reader away from the crime and procedure of it all and made it into a more Berg-focused story. This isn’t a bad thing, but after the amazing results of book 1, I was expecting a little more of that this time around.

One thing that has stood out in both books is the really amazingly evil antagonist/s. I loved how twisted and creepy they are and truly enjoyed the gradual exposure of the level of evil they went to in both books, but even more in Broken. While I don’t share the whole drive that pushed the antagonist, I can see something like that happening in real life for certain individuals. It was eerily realistic. Well done Vanessa!

This book can be read alone, but to get a fuller picture of the characters, reading book 1 is definitely recommended! Pick up Vanessa’s books today.

I can’t comment on editing/typos as I have an ARC which has not been proofed, I imagine given the quality of the first book, that this will be an immaculately presented book when released

I can’t wait for the next book from Vanessa Skye, she’s an author to watch out for.

Stay tuned for the guest post from Vanessa on the 14th followed by her answers to my interview questions on the 18th. 

2 thoughts on “Edge of Darkness week – Broken by Vanessa Skye

  1. I love that cover! Suits the subject of the book very well. I want to touch it to feel if it’s really that rough!

Please Leave a Reply

