Star Dwellers, the continuation of a series…


The Moon Dwellers

3 stars

Book two in The Dweller Series by David Estes

I’ve read a number of David’s books, I’ve reviewed them on Amazon, GoodReads and on my blog. I enjoy his style of writing, the new ideas he comes up with and the characters, but sadly this one fell a little short. Interestingly, the Dweller’s Series and his newer series The Country Saga start off seperate, but later join together. I haven’t really seen this done before, in all of my reading. The closest would be Lindsay Buroker’s cross over between The Emprorer’s Edge series and her Encrypted/Decrypted series in which the characters are in the same world with some minor cross over.

Synopsis: After rescuing her father and younger sister, Adele is forced to leave her family and Tristan behind to find her mother in the cruel and dangerous realm of the star dwellers.

Amidst blossoming feelings for Adele, Tristan must cast his feelings aside and let her find her own way amongst the star dwellers, while he accompanies Adele’s father to meet with the leaders of the moon dwellers and decide the fate of the Tri-Realms.

Will Adele be able to rescue her mother and make it back to the Moon Realm before the President and the sun dweller soldiers destroy her family?

Can Tristan convince the moon dweller puppets of the error of their ways?

Was Adele’s lost kiss with Tristan her one and only chance at love?

In her world there’s only one rule: Someone must die.

Bookish Things: 368 pages, another brilliantly colourful cover that works with the others in the series.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $4.99 or in paperback for $9.60

My Review: bookshelves: aussie-authors,     3-star-review,     indie-author,     smirk-worthy,     something-missing,     ya,     dystopian

Read from July 31 to August 03, 2013

I’m not sure why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first in the series The Moon Dwellers, but I just didn’t feel a connection between me and the characters this time.

Perhaps it was that there seemed to be too much action, too much sensory information (I think I may have thought that the last book didn’t have enough though) and just too much in general.

There were scenes in this book that should have completely floored me, but they didn’t because I felt rushed through it, the scenes that should have been drawn out, teased and drip fed to the reader were harried and thrust into the readers face with little warning. I think this meant I missed a lot of the innuendo and subtle ideas that David meant to be visible.

I thought too, that some of the supposed ‘twists’ were blatantly obvious. Like, wrapped up in neon lights and flashing like the Vegas strip, obvious. Perhaps it comes down to something as simple as I have started to outgrow David’s YA writing? I’m not sure.

It was still enjoyable and entertaining, but not his best. I will read book #3 The Sun Dwellers but not for a while.

Do you enjoy dystopian genre? What books in this genre have you read that were totally awesome? Share them below

3 thoughts on “Star Dwellers, the continuation of a series…

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “The Moon Dwellers” | The Cheap Reader

  2. Mmm. I remember the first book didn’t have much atmosphere, now this one has too much. I never felt connected to the characters.

    • Yeah it was certainly not as good as book #1, but for different reasons. Weird.

      I still plan on reading book #3 in the Dweller series and then depending on that, the newer series that join together with it too. Should be interesting.

      Gotta support my fellow Aussie indie authors 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

