Tower of Tales by Alison Stuart


TowerOfTales

3 stars

A collection of short stories…

I have been a bit slack this week, it’s been 6 days since my last post (why do I feel like I’m at AA or something. Hi my name is…it’s been 6 days since my last post…) More on this later (perhaps I might write another post!)

Synopsis: Tower of Tales is a collection of short stories by award winning writer Alison Stuart. This eclectic mix of stories cover the travails of an expat life in Singapore and contemporary and historical romantic stories.

Bookish things: 56 pages, very quick read. The cover really doesn’t have much to do with the stories, but I like it anyway, it’s a bit different.

Where to buy: Amazon on kindle for $2.99 and on smashwords also for $2.99

My Review: bookshelves: aussie-authors,     smashwords-review,     aww2013,     3-star-review,     a-lil-sexy,     historical-fiction,     indie-author,     paranormal,     romance,     something-missing,     too-short

Read from July 06 to 07, 2013 — I own a copy, read count: 1

Alison is a great writer, don’t let this 3 star review put you off her work.

The reasoning behind this rating is simple. I prefer her longer works because it allows her to further develop her characters, story and in most cases fully tug on my heart strings too.

The short stories in this book were tiny glimpses into what, I am sure, would have been brilliant novels if Alison were to continue them. As they stand, however, I felt like you were getting a teaser, but alas there was nothing to follow up with. I long for the rest of these stories.

This left me feeling a little deflated after some great imagery, great character building and warm introductions to some amazing characters.

If you want a quick, easy way to introduce yourself to Alison’s writing style (covering romance, historical fiction and the expat life in Singapore) then this is the book to try. The romance is sweet, not explicit. The historical fiction brief but vivid and the stories of the expat life of a wife in Singapore felt full of realism.

I especially enjoyed how Alison included a brief note about the inspiration or event that was the catalyst for the piece. A lovely insight into her creative mind.

Are you a fan of short stories? Can you recommend any good ones for me to try?

3 thoughts on “Tower of Tales by Alison Stuart

  1. Pingback: Affinity for Darkness – Chapter Five | Emilia Jordan

  2. I just love stories – I’m going to give this one a go 😀

Please Leave a Reply

