House Rules by Jodi Picoult


I seem to have broken my own house rules by tempting myself with a Jodi Picoult book instead of some of the indie books I had listed only the other day. I did have a reason for this.

I took a well needed break with my husband and we didn’t take any electronic devices with us. No phone, no kindle (GASP! Yes I know. I felt completely naked without it!), just us, a fireplace, a very indulgent day spa massage and some fantastic food in the mountains. It was glorious!

This is why I ended up taking a book, but in the last minute rush to find something to take with me to read before we left I couldn’t locate Sydney’s Song, so I grabbed House Rules instead.

**This review contains slight spoilers**

HouseRules

3 stars

Synopsis: Jacob Hunt is a teenage boy with Asperger’s syndrome. He’s hopeless at reading social cues or expressing himself to others, and like many children with Asperger’s, Jacob has an obsessive focus on one subject – in his case, forensic analysis. He’s always showing up at crime scenes, thanks to the police scanner he keeps in his room. But then one day his tutor is found dead, and the police come to question him. Reluctance to make eye contact, stimulatory tics and twitches, inappropriate gestures, all these can look a lot like guilt. Suddenly, Jacob finds himself accused of murder.

House Rules looks at what it means to be different in our society, and at the extremes of love and loyalty a family must call upon to overcome impossible circumstances.

Bookish Things: An epic 532 pages, this one was probably one of the thickest books on my book shelf. It felt like an achievement to have read it, despite the now uncommon issue of trying to hold up a rather heavy book! I’m so glad to be back to reading my kindle. I liked this cover, it’s very Jodi Picoult, it fits in with her others.

My Review: bookshelves: dead-tree-books,     3-star-review,     made-me-think,     smirk-worthy

Recommended for: Jodi Picoult fans
Read from June 30 to July 03, 2013 — I own a copy, read count: 1

I wanted to love this book.
Jodi’s previous books were so amazing I guess she would just always be able to deliver that level of awesome. This is a great book! I cannot say that enough, the richness of the characters and the exploration of each of them was great.
Where this fell short for me was the constant repetition of aspects of Aspergers, constant reminders of everything Emma (the mum) had given up for Jacob (protagonist/antagonist and character with Aspergers). The constant reminders of how put out Theo (Jacob’s younger brother) was and how he rebelled.

Perhaps the biggest flaw I saw in the story was ***spoiler*** how it took about 50% of the book before anyone straight out asked Jacob if he killed Jess ***End spoiler***

Certainly not Jodi’s best, but still certainly worth a read.

Are you a Jodi Picoult fan? What books of hers have you read and would recommend?

Please Leave a Reply

