My next 10 reads…


While I was thinking about what to write about on this blog post I was struck by the fact that I haven’t really talked about my up and coming reading. I mention the books once I’ve read them, I post a review, I might give a copy away, but for the most part all my information on books seems to be AFTER I’ve finished with them. So, with that in mind, I thought I’d introduce you to the next 10 books on my TBR list.

I usually read indie books, I’ve mentioned this on a number of occasions. This week is no different.

#1 ~ the next book I’ll read

GrowingDisenchantments

Growing Disenchantments was given to me by the author. I must admit the cover does leave a bit to be desired. It looks like something a young child might put together in MS Paint. Despite this, the reviews on Goodreads appear to be anything but average.

With a current average rating of 4.65 out of 5 from 19 reviews, it is probably one of the highest ratings I’ve seen on any book, indie or mainstream published. I am hoping it will live up to the great praise it appears to be receiving.

The book blurb includes a little positive promotion about the author: The new novel from K.D. Berry – WINNER – Sir Julius Vogel Award ‘Best New Talent’ 2012

I don’t know about you, but I don’t really know many people who’ve won writing awards, even if I haven’t heard of the award before. Sounds good – right?!

#2

TheGarden

The Garden – The unauthorised biography of Adam and Eve is the adult version of this book. Paul has recently been toting a G rated version of this book on Goodreads. Also looking strong with 19 reviews and sitting at 4.5 out of 5, this looks to be another tasty treat from the indie author world.

I’ve read another book by Paul, The 5 Moons of Tiiana which I gave 2/5 because I had issues with the writing. It wasn’t because the basics were poor, no in fact I quite enjoyed the story, I just wanted the writing to be a bit more consistent. I’m hoping this one of Paul’s is better in that regard.

I quite like the cover of this, I think it’s rather eye-catching. It brings to my mind the story of Adam and Eve, even without reading the smaller text. That apple looks great!

#3

TowerOfTalesTower of Tales is one of a few by Alison Stuart that are coming up in my top 10. Alison provided me a couple of books when I read and reviewed her first Gather The Bones that I thoroughly enjoyed.

This one is a collection of short stories, I’m not sure if there is a theme they all fall into or it will be a glorious mix of things. Sometimes the not knowing really makes the wait worth it.

Tower of Tales has only had two ratings so far and one review. It’s looking a little low on love at the moment. I’m hoping to rectify this soon.

#4

TheEleventhQuestion The Eleventh Question is by fellow blogger Dianne Gray, I’ve enjoyed another of her stories too, Wolf Pear was a very enjoyable read.

Dianne is a fellow Aussie too, one I probably would have met up with at some point, except that she moved to QLD only a few weeks after I learnt that she lived near me. Perhaps when she comes back here for a visit maybe. 🙂

Sporting a 4.43 out of 5, The Eleventh Question is sitting pretty with 7 ratings. It could of course do with some more love, especially from fellow Aussies.

#5

Elegant Floral Frame Background The King’s Man is the second of Alison’s books in my top 10.

I seem to be on a bit of a Romance trip at the moment. I am not sure why it always happens this way, but like genres seem to stick together a bit.

I quite like this cover even though you can’t see any facial details of the people on the front. I think it adds an air of mystery to the scene that is obviously rather intimate, or is it?!

The reviews are screaming praise of this historical romance novel based in a time when daily life was rather turbulent.

#6

GoodbyeJunieMoon Goodbye Junie Moon is something a little different.

This is probably the first memoir I’ve read (well that I can remember reading) so I’m not sure how this will sit considering I’m used to fiction.

That being said, the tale of Junie Moon sounds rather thrilling.

3.87 out of 5 on Goodreads, some of the more recent reviewers have read a bit about Vietnam, but loved June Collins memoir.

#7

ByTheSword By The Sword is the last of Alison’s books I have in my next 10 reads. She’s got five books in total at the moment, if you like historical romance than Alison is the gal for you!

I enjoy reading a number of books by authors, I think if gives me a better grasp on their writing style and also allows me to get to know them a little. I’ve read multiple books (if they have them) by all my favourite authors. You can tell I like an author if I keep reading their books.

Currently sitting on 4.65 out of 5, By The Sword is looking good.

#8

SydneysSong Sydney’s Song is a book that I won through Goodreads. If you don’t know about the giveaways, you should totally check them out. All sorts of books up for grabs, you just have to jostle with a few hundred others. I’ve entered a large number of giveaways, so far I’ve won four.

Sitting on 4.47 out of 5, Sydney’s Song seems to be doing well. A number of the reviews are from winners like myself, but they look fairly honest. So I think this will be a good book.

Ia was lovely to communicate with when I’d won. She actually sent me two copies, one in regular sized text and one in large font. I gave the large font copy to my parents. Mum said it was a nice book. I’ll soon find out.

#9

The Moon Dwellers Star Dwellers is book #2 in David’s Dweller Series. I’ve read book #1 and I enjoyed it, but I think I was a little critical of the characters and the writing despite believing that it’s the strongest of David’s books I’ve read. I’m hoping he keeps improving with each book he writes.

If you like dystopian young adult books, then this series is for you.

David is an Aussie author (US born) but is currently roaming about the globe on a long-term around the world trek with his wife. He’s holidaying and writing… and I am totally jealous!

#10

DukeDontDance The Duke Don’t Dance should have been read already. It’s from quite a while ago, but alas when I came to read it, it was only a week or so after my grandad died and the book starts with a funeral. I pushed it back and it’s now clawing its way back to the top of my list.

This one is a historical fiction book, but not based in the King Arthur, medieval or Elizabethan times. This book covers events that happened between 1960 and 2011.

It seems to be getting reasonable reviews. Currently sitting at 4.12 with 32 ratings.

What are your next 10 books? 

4 thoughts on “My next 10 reads…

  1. What a great reading list! (particularly #4! lol) Thank you so much for putting The Eleventh Question on your list – I’m thrilled! 😀

    • Thanks for stopping by Dianne! I couldn’t stop at just Wolf Pear. I thoroughly enjoyed that one, hoping for another great read in The Eleventh Question.

      I am pretty sure I have a few more of yours lurking on my TBR list a little further up too 🙂

  2. I like the cover on The Eleventh Question!

Please Leave a Reply

