Forgotten Fox by Lena Horn


Stunning photo!

Stunning photo!

3 stars

My review of Forgotten Fox – The Celestial Saga #1

As part of a reading challenge for one of my groups on Goodreads, I picked up Forgotten Fox. The group wanted members to read the books written by other group members. I decided I’d add 21 to my list. Forgotten Fox was #4. You can see the other titles on my chillenge shelf.

Synopsis: Forgotten Fox is the first novel in the series The Celestial Saga.

In the world of Temis, where the Familiars have separated themselves from the other humans, eighteen year old Aruna finds herself exiled from home for not conforming to society, something that she did not even have control over. She is thrust into a dangerous wilderness where she is lost and alone. But she meets George, a mystical fox that grows a second tail after an encounter with a vicious animal.

As Aruna searches for a new home, accompanied by her fox, her undeniable destiny lies before them and pulls them into the ancient war of the Celestials, the demi-gods that once ruled the wild.

Even while they are pitted against these higher beings, and a family that Aruna can no longer trust, they continue the search for a place that they can call home, and people that they can call family

Bookish things: 260 pages bundled within the glorious cover. I thought that the cover was probably the crowning jewel for this book. It is bright, perfectly fits with the story, but didn’t give away anything. Well done!

Where to buy: On Amazon on kindle for $2.99 or as paperback for $8.99 or on Smashwords for $2.99

My review: 

bookshelves: chillengeautumn-challenge3-star-review,fantasyindie-authorsomething-missing

Read from June 07 to 08, 2013
Forgotten Fox boasts a rather unique plot. I have never read anything like it before.
I did momentarily lapse into my childhood when the tails started happening, it reminded me of Vulpix from Pokemon.I had a bit of trouble visualising George asanything other than a sweet little red fox with 9 glorious tails.

I must also admit that George’s name threw me too. It seemed a strange animal name. I liked the story with all it’s complexity, the twists were varied and seemed to fit well. Where the story fell down was in the polish.There were scenes that I struggled to follow the fighting because the visuals weren’t clear enough, there were rather important development points that should have been fleshed out that weren’t. These points were simply swept under the carpet.I also had issues with some of the mental processes for Aruna, for the most part her thoughts and actions made a lot of sense, there were, however, a number of times in the story where what she did or said or thought seemed so foreign, it was like some other character.

All in all, a rather enjoyable story, but it has its problems.

What books have you read that gave you a strong memory of your childhood? Share them with us below.

2 thoughts on “Forgotten Fox by Lena Horn

  1. This is a nice honest review, sometimes is very difficult to write fight scenes (I try and avoid them!) Like you, I think the cover is great. Best of luck with the rest of the books 😀

    • Thanks Dianne! It was an enjoyable book. I adored the cover from the second I saw it. It was in fact what drew me to the book initially.

      I will get there and possibly more than 21 by the end of the year. At least I hope so 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

