Tough Girl – It’s not a name, it’s a warning!


Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00060]

3 stars

Synopsis: Danger lurks everywhere in eleven year old Reggie’s world—from the bully next door to the unwanted attentions of a creep at school.  Raised by her mentally ill mother, Reggie is left to fend for herself in a rough neighborhood.  She escapes in daydreams, battling aliens with her alter ego, Tough Girl.

When Reggie’s mother disappears, her fantasy life spirals out of control and starts to invade reality.  She is hunted by a creature of her own design, and even Tough Girl is not strong enough to stop him.

Will Reggie survive long enough for her mother to return, or will her dream world take over?

This book contains adult themes and adult language.

My thoughts: 250 pages. This is a confusing book to read, but it’s not because the book is bad. In fact the book is quite good, but it’s still confusing.

Where to buy: On Amazon in both paperback and on kindle priced from $2.99 the book is also available on Smashwords for $2.99

Review:

Bookshelves: indie-review-copies,     twitter-books,     autumn-challenge,     3-star-review,     made-me-think,     wtf-moments-galore

Recommended for:  Anyone willing to give it a try. YA readers.
Read from March 19 to 24, 2013 — I own a copy, read count: 1

I don’t really know what to say about Tough Girl.
I kind of feel like I’ve just woken up from a very bizarre dream, the real and fantasy worlds of Reggie’s blurred considerably. Sometimes it was obvious which was which, other times not so much and that became a little confusing.

The book had me second guessing my instincts about characters, plot and even the ending. It forced me to see things like Reggie, the craziness and the reality all mixed in together, and that made for a bit of a strange read. It won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, it’s far too complex to reach everyone on a real level, but at the same time it’s simplistic.

I’m probably just confusing you all, but that is how I feel right now.

The writing was simple and easy to read, there was some great imagery coupled with real-life teen issues (bullying and the like), but it was coupled with some incredible storytelling. The intricacies of the fantasy world was immense.
Initially it reminded me a little of Tahlia Newland‘s work with the bullying and the alternate realism that occurred, but it wasn’t the same style as Tahlia’s work. This was harsher and in some ways more real, but in others not.

A rather confusing review I think, but sadly, that’s what you’re going to get as that’s how I’m feeling right after reading this one.

A couple of things I noticed:

57% – ‘waived’ shoud be ‘waved’
70% – ‘She could feels (feel) his eyes…’

Also, the PDF version provided for my kindle had some very funky formatting issues, which should not be present when purchasing the book.
**NOTE: I was provided an electronic version of this book in return for an honest review**

4 thoughts on “Tough Girl – It’s not a name, it’s a warning!

  1. Considering adding this to my TBR. I do like unreliable narrators. 🙂

  2. Sometimes I watch movies like this where I think ‘what just happened – was that real or just the fantasy part?’ so I understand what you’re saying about this book. It sounds intriguing and confusing at the same time and may be worth a read for me 😉

    • I did enjoy it, even though it made me a bit confused. I liked Reggie. There are some very adult themes throughout, even though I tagged it as YA. I hope you enjoy it if you read it Dianne 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

