Face of the Dead by Natasha Duncan-Drake


FaceOfTheDead

3 stars

Another foray into M/M tinged stories…

Unfortunately for me, this one wasn’t as good as the last few I’d read. Also, while the M/M was a theme throughout the book, again it wasn’t a main theme, and certainly not graphic in terms of the sexy stuff. A bit more focused on the self-love area when the naughtiness occurred, this one might not tickle your fancy.

Synopsis: Old houses creak and groan and make noises. Miles had expected that when he bought the farmhouse, but the tapping on the windows is a bit of a shock the first night he moves in. Of course there has to be a rational explanation and Miles is determined to find it, which would be easier if things didn’t keep getting stranger.

My thoughts: Approx 32 pages. Only mediocre in the grand scheme of things, and certainly not Natasha’s best.

Where to buy it: Amazon has it for 0.99c and also available on smashwords for $0.99

Review:

bookshelves: 3-star-review,     horror,     m-m,     something-missing,     too-short

Read on February 19, 2013 — I own a copy, read count: 1

Face of the Dead is the first of Natasha’s books that I’ve read that encompasses horror and thriller aspects. While I normally, thoroughly enjoy her fantasy stories, in particular the books of the Charlie Waterman series, this one left me feeling a little cold, and not because of the creepiness.

While there was nothing technically wrong with the writing, I just felt a lack of connection with the characters. While the imagery was well constructed, I didn’t find myself imagining it in my brain, there just seemed to be some sort of blockage between the written word and my imagination.

The pacing seemed a little off with this one too, but given the short length, perhaps that was to be expected. I am thinking that the pace was so fast that I didn’t get a chance to ‘know’ the characters or share their experiences.

The bare bones of a rather creepy story is here, but it just didn’t do it for me this time.

One thing I noticed:
34% – ‘As is (it) turned out…’

 

2 thoughts on “Face of the Dead by Natasha Duncan-Drake

  1. Another good review. Sometimes they just don’t ‘click’ and I love your honesty.

Please Leave a Reply

