The truth about Coffee…


Yep, that poster is right. This blog is a bullshit free zone.

I can pledge to you all right now, that my reviews are 100% honest. If I didn’t like your book I’ll say so, and I’m not going to sugarcoat it for you. If you can’t handle hearing why I did or DID NOT like your book, don’t put it out there. Don’t type it up, wrap it in a pretty cover and send it sailing out in to the e-reader/reader sphere.

What spurred this you ask?

<startrant>

What is it usually? Someone being immature and childish. Someone taking offence to one of my reviews about their book. No, I won’t name names, some of you will know who it is, others will not. I refuse to give that author more publicity when they can’t handle constructive and non-threatening feedback on their book.

In their defence, they didn’t ask me to review their book. They didn’t give me a copy of it, I paid for it. I handed over my hard-earned cash and spent a few hours of my valuable time reading the book.

The conclusion…

So, to you, my dear followers, and you, the bigger group of authors who may decide to send me your book… be prepared to get the truth from me.

It’s that simple!

<endrant>

8 thoughts on “The truth about Coffee…

  1. It is interesting that you feel a review might differ based on whether or not you paid for/were asked to review the book.

    While I can see good grounds for not commenting on the price if you have not paid it, and for not commenting on the strength of the cover/blurb if you were given it, is not the artistic merit is the same however you receive it?

    • Oh, I didn’t mean that my review would differ because I paid for it, if that is implied, I didn’t intend it that way.

      I only mentioned it to clear up that the author didn’t ask for the review and then get all weird with my review. I guess I mentioned it to clear the air, it was a completely unsolicited review and therefore my interactions with the author only took place after the review went live.

      I have heard of authors doing that before (asking for the review, then whining when the review isn’t all sunshine and rainbows).

      So, sorry if that wasn’t clear.

  2. I can imagine people get a bit sensitive about their ‘babies’ and this is fair enough, but to be a good writer you have to have a tough skin and take the good with the bad. If the story isn’t up to scratch it’s best that someone tells you what it didn’t do it for them. I will always take criticism on board and look to see how I can improve myself and my writing with every review. What I don’t understand is how someone can give me three stars for one of my books on goodreads and not write up a review to let me (and other people) know what part of it they didn’t like (I thought that was a bit strange).

    I think your reviews are brilliant and honest. Keep it up. Good work! 😀

    • Thanks Dianne! Your thoughts are exactly why I review, if I like OR dislike a book I want to let not only the author, but potential readers know why.

  3. Amen, sister!

    Recently I got some not so great feedback on my own stuff. ‘This is not as awesome as it could be: you are better than this.’ …well, not in those words, but that was the gist of it. And you know what? It was true. I took it on board and made it better and am better for it.

    I’m sad that someone was offended by your critisism. I can understand how it can be upsetting, but gentle words of correction can be so useful if one is willing to listen to them.

    Always tell it like you see it!

    • Thanks Molly 🙂

      I agree with you! It’s hard sometimes to hear the truth about your work, especially when you put your heart and soul, blood sweat and tears into it, but most reviewers just want you to keep getting better. It’s not a personal attack.

      Anyway, I’ve moved on to bigger and better things, I’m reading like a fiend and loving most of what I’m reading now 😀

      Thanks for stopping by!

Please Leave a Reply

