Getting back into the swing of things


In one of my latest posts about mental lethargy, a few people commented on the need to push through the sludge that was weighing me down and persevere. I had subconsciously come to the same conclusion, especially since I kind of fear the idea of becoming lazy if I just let myself outgrow this feeling of lethargy.

So, with pushing through this boundary into the realm of creativity in mind, I set to it in a few different ways.

Being creative in a girly I-want-to-feel-pretty way:

What better way to do this, than by painting my nails. You can see below the photographic evidence that I am putting my creative hat back on. I went all nail salon on myself!

carbonfiber

Carbon Fiber Nail Polish… should last forever!

Here’s a sexy car with some carbon fiber on it for you to have a look at too.

I now have carbon fiber-like nails. That might interest any car buffs out there (you too can have your girlfriend sport carbon fiber nails), all you need is a Konad nail stamping kit, about 30-40 minutes of free time and obviously a girlfriend who’s keen on the idea.

Cooking up a storm

As I mentioned in that previous mental lethargy post, I have been thrashing about in bouts of creativity in the kitchen. Some of my recent creations include:

Jambalaya

Jambalaya: Jambalaya originated in the Caribbean Islands. The Spanish culture mixed with the native foods created what is known as Jambalaya. Jambalaya is traditionally made in three parts, with meats and vegetables, and is completed by adding stock and rice. It is also a close cousin to the saffron colored paella found in Spanish culture. This one has chorizo sausage and chicken as the meat. The recipe suggested cornbread muffins to have with it, alas I didn’t have any polenta to make them, next time I will.

It sure was tasty.

Laksa

Chicken Laksa: Laksa is a popular spicy noodle soup from the Peranakan culture, which is a merger of Chinese and Malay elements found in Malaysia and Singapore, and Indonesia. This one was made with a delicious mix of rice vermicelli and egg noodles, chicken and lots of coconut milk. It was missing the deep fried tofu puffs this time… next time it won’t be!

If anyone is interested in the recipes let me know and I’ll provide them 🙂

Orderly creativity

Ok, so this may not be so much creative, and more trying to immerse myself again into the reading/writing world. I spent a fair amount of time going through my TBR list on Goodreads. I did a little bit of a cull (about 20 books have been deleted from my TBR list, only to be swiftly replaced by 40 more!) of some of the books I hastily added, reshuffled a few books around on shelves and even created a couple of new shelves. I now have the below new shelves:

1st reads entered – First reads is what Goodreads calls their giveaways section. New books (pre-publication) can offer up a number of copies of their books (real books not ebooks) and people – often hundreds – enter in for a chance to win and then read and review the book.

1st reads won – This is a shelf for all the books I have won through the first reads program. It’s currently home to four books.

aussie authors – This one is pretty self explanatory. I now have a shelf for my fellow Aussie authors.

awesome authors – This shelf is the most recent addition. I created it so I can further promote my favourite authors. The authors books on this shelf have said or done something awesome in my eyes.

blog review req – Enter the shelf for any requests for reviews I get from this blog.

chillenge – The Chillenge shelf. This refers to a group challenge I’m taking part in. The challenge is to chill out and read some indie authors that belong to the group. There’s no limit on how many you have to read, how fast or which books, just that they need to be part of the Books, Blogs, Authors and More group. So far I’ve pledged to read 10 books this year, my shelf currently holds 11 books. I’ll probably add more too as the year progresses.

pricey ebooks – I was a little hesitant to create this shelf, but I felt I needed to for my own management of ebooks. Some of the more well-known authors have a tendency to up the price of their ebooks to over that of a paperback copy of their books when they’re first published. I may want to read these books, but I won’t be while they’re still $7, $8, $10, $16 a copy. Hence, the pricey ebooks shelf was born. I will house the books here until a later date and recheck the price on Amazon down the track.

twitter books – Like my blog review req shelf this one is for books that I obtain through my twitter account. I currently have five books on this shelf.

A little creative writing…erm, editing

Here’s a little section of a story I wrote a while ago. Rather than jump straight back into creating, I thought I’d have a go at editing/brushing up on something I’d already created.

Some background: Aeryn is visiting New Orleans for Mardi Gras and she bumps in to Nick a hunky young man she met at a work lecture. He introduces her to the sights and party-like atmosphere of Mardi Gras before adjourning back to his place for a party of their own. This is where we find them…

He led her up the tiny staircase, towards a small and dimly lit apartment. She could smell the thick waft of maleness as she entered through the door. His smile, tinged now with a hint of lust and excitement as he clicked the door closed behind her.

She took in the room, her eyes first found the queen size bed in the far corner, covers hastily thrown to resemble a made bed. She smiled faintly at the thought of him waking, his hair sticking up at odd angles. She noted a dirty sock peeking out at her from under the blankets as her eyes began to skim over the rest of the room.

Dirty dishes stacked haphazardly in the sink spilled over onto the bench space, the smell of cold lasagne still lingering faintly in the air. Her line of sight moved around the room and came to rest upon the magazines on the coffee table, the corner of a Playboy magazine winked at her from under the couch, while sporting ones scattered the coffee table.

He blushed slightly seeing her take in the messiness and maleness of his apartment and silently cursed himself for not cleaning up before the party. Swallowing his pride, he moved closer to her, his hands brushing the soft fabric of her tank top. He felt her relax against him taking in a deep breath of his scent, the strong aroma tickling her nose.

“I can’t believe how many people are out there,” she whispered as she rested against him. He stroked her gold shoulder with one of his purple fingers. He noted the contrast between them, and then turned her to face him.

“I can’t believe you flashed for those beads,” he grinned remembering the incredible sight from just a little while before. Her purple tank top up around her face, while those stunningly pale breasts winked cheekily at the night for a few precious seconds, before being enclosed once again by her shirt.

How do you get back in your creative groove? Do you just sit down and smack your head against the desk ’till it happens or do you try other things too?

5 thoughts on “Getting back into the swing of things

  1. Very nice nails 🙂 Ohhh and that story – I’ve read it before. So good 🙂

  2. So glad you’ve got your groove back. I love the nails and the recipes!

    Great story – you really have come back, big time 😀

    • Thanks Dianne, it’s been a rough little while. I’m hoping to make some more headway on my novel over the next little while. I’d love to have a 1st draft done. That’d be awesome!

  3. I’m a head-basher myself. I’ll sit down and be all like “be creative, damn it”, but it always fails. The words come back eventually on their own, usually when I least expect it.

Please Leave a Reply

