Review of Zed by Stephen Herfst


Zed

3 stars

 

Synopsis:

The story revolves around a teenage girl’s promise to save Zed from the human hordes.

Zed is not your typical zombie. He is cursed with the affliction of thought … although he tries to make the best of a bad situation. The goals for his unrest are simple: to improve his stride, to taste a lightly-seared pork loin once again and avoid Activists at all costs.

His life was predictable, controlled and good until chaos crashed the party. In just one day his world is destroyed and his ability to survive is tested. Would he be able to get through this in one piece? And would he somehow be able to survive the unstoppable force that goes by the name of Chase?

Ease of reading:

152 pages. This took me 7 days to read despite the fact that the writing was light and easy to read. I wasn’t in love with this book so I didn’t rush to read it at every opportunity.

Where to buy:

On kindle at Amazon for $2.99 or in electronic formats supplied by smashwords, also for $2.99

Review:

Zed was a slightly different look at the zombie apocalypse, it was different in that the POV was from Zed, a slightly more human zombie. I enjoyed his inner dialogue, even when he occasionally rambled on about things that were a little trivial. Couple his inner dialogue with the rambunctious Chase and you have yourself the makings of an interesting tale.

Zed grows as a character throughout the story, he was initially one-dimensional and flat, much like the zombie he should be, but by the end of the book he was more ‘human’ than I think he should have been. Chase’s human-ness rubbed off and he began to feel things and think of things and learn things he never thought were possible for a zombie.

This was a story of self discovery and showcased a lot of good themes for young adults (as this book clearly is aimed at – the writing is certainly well written for the YA crowd). The growing friendship between Chase and Zed is slowly built upon, it’s not rushed, no one falls insanely in love with the other only minutes after meeting them or any of that all-too-familiar storyline. It progressed nicely and finished in a good place.

The main thing I didn’t like was how Zed seemed to know so much about everything (except for convenient, or quite possibly intended ‘inconvenient’ things) and the explanation that he learnt all this from TV or reading seemed a little far-fetched. I felt this gave the whole story a little bit too much ‘fake’ which threw the whole thing off for me. Every time Zed uttered something about learning it from TV I inwardly cringed.

This issue aside, I enjoyed Zed and Chase’s journey. I would also happily pick up another book by Stephen, just to see how he goes with something other than zombies and Zed’s humor.

*NOTE: I received a copy of this book in return for an honest review*

2 thoughts on “Review of Zed by Stephen Herfst

  1. It’s really hard to write a story without things being ‘convenient’ or ‘contrived’ (just as an aside here – I hate the word contrived) but our characters have to learn things somewhere and then impart them to the reader. The ability to do this flawlessly is a true gift 😀

    I don’t know if I would read this book regardless, because of the ‘zombie’ angle which has never really tickled my fancy.

    Great review – I love your honesty 😀

    • I agree, it’s certainly hard, but this was just too convenient. It seemed he knew a lot, but then didn’t know how to do things that seemed pretty basic. It was a little odd.

      I felt a little the same with the zombies, I think this is only book #2 with zombies that I’ve read. I give all books a good go though 😀 and as a result I enjoyed the humor in this one.

Please Leave a Reply

