Smirk worthy


The title really says it all… these books are on my ‘smirk worthy’ shelf on Goodreads.

What does a book need to possess to be considered for this shelf?

Well clearly, the title suggests the book is worthy of a smirk, but what does it need to possess to make me smirk? Well that depends on the book really. A lot of the time it’s humor, be it witty comments, barbed bickering between characters, a funny situation or inner dialogue from the protagonist that I relate to. Now, keep in mind here that not all the books on this shelf were great. Some of them I rated as 2 or 3 stars. Most of them are higher (4 and 5 stars) but they don’t have to be a fantastic book to elicit a smirk from me. Merely a quirky saying or something else that tickles my fancy.

Some of the books:

I’ll only include a couple here… I might revisit this shelf down the track.

FlatOutLoveFlat-Out Love was a thoroughly enjoyable book. I gave it 5 stars and you can see my review here.

“You are not the first, and will not be the last, to say so. I wear my “warped” label with pride.”
― Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park

Flat-Out Love also graces my ‘Made Me Cry’ shelf. So be warned!

LettersInCardboardBoxes Letters In Cardboard Boxes was a different type of read. It was emotionally charged, but also quite amusing in terms of the funny comments and thoughts of some of the characters. I especially loved Parker and her Grandmother and their humorous conversations. One of which is below:

“Parker, I’m old,” She said matter-of-factly. “I get away with these things.” She continued to wave and smile wildly. “People treat me like an idiot so I’m allowed to act like one from time to time. It’s one of the perks.”

It seems that people thoroughly enjoyed Abby’s writing style as this book has a huge number of quotes highlighted and favourited on Goodreads. You can see my review here.

Smirk-worthy quotes:

“Why is luge a sport? You dress up like a giant sperm and go sledding really fast. That’s hardly athletic. Phallic and sexy, yes. But hardly athletic.”
―  Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park

“I’m English. We’re about as tactful as a hot poker up the bum, most of the time.”
― The Antique Hunters by L.H. Thomson

“I stared at my broccoli with all kinds of menace.”
― Hotblood by Juliann Whicker

Care to share some of the smirk-worthy quotes or books you know of? Post them below in the comments and let us all in on the fun!

Please Leave a Reply

