Books that made me cry…


The ‘Made me cry’ shelf

This book shelf is really only reserved for those books that really REALLY are special. The characters have to connect with me on one or more levels and I have to truly care for them. There are a lot of books out there that I’ve loved, that have even gotten 5 stars, but aren’t on this list. Similarly, some of the books in this shelf haven’t gotten 5 stars, but I loved the characters. If you’re keen to see the whole list (currently 14) you can view it from my profile page on Goodreads.

Jodi Picoult

Jodi has three books in this list, out of those three, the most vivid and the one that has resonated with me the most was Nineteen Minutes which left me gutted. One of the great things about Jodi’s writing is her ability to make you go into a book with one frame of mind. You believe it 100%, but then, by the end of the book, she’s changed your perception and often I find myself changing views. I don’t know of any other author who’s been able to do that!

Michael J. Sullivan

I’ve spoken about Michael’s series Riyria Revelations before. I loved the whole lot! All six books, but the last one, Percepliquis, it was something else. I loved those characters like they were family. I cried my eyes out at several points throughout this book, sometimes in happiness, sometimes while I was awash with grief, regardless, this book earned it’s place on this shelf well and truly.

Kim Fielding

Kim has two books on this shelf, Stasis (book #1 in the series) and Flux (#2), which I am pretty sure will be soon joined by book #3 once I’ve read it.  One of my first M/M romance books, this took me by surprise a little bit, at how much I connected with the characters. Now, for those of you who instantly count this one out because of the M/M aspect, it’s truly not very prominent. It’s sweet and subdued and works well with the story. I hope more people read these books.

Richard Layman

Yes, this one is a little strange. Body Rides which is firmly nestled in the horror, thriller genres clawed its way onto this shelf too. This book probably isn’t for the faint hearted, it’s full of some gruesome images, some truly creepy people and pretty steamy sex, but it still managed to make me cry.

What are some of the books that have made you cry? Do any of them fall outside the usual genres, like Body Rides did for me? Share them below!

7 thoughts on “Books that made me cry…

  1. Pingback: 02.13: 2012 in Written Word | Amor Vincit Omnia

  2. My wife recommended “Where the Red Fern Grows.” I thought while I was reading it, feh, kids book, not going to do much for me. About four pages from the end, I bawled my eyes out; it completely caught me off guard.

Please Leave a Reply

