Blood and Betrayal ~ A closer look


A closer look at Blood and Betrayal (book #5 in the Emperor’s Edge Series) by Lindsay Buroker.

If you’ve spent much time lurking around on my blog, you’ll know I love Lindsay’s EE series. I was purposely leaving book #5 for a little while so the wait for #6 wasn’t so long… below is my verdict.

Review:

If you’ve read my previous reviews of Lindsay’s works you’ll know I’m a HUGE fan of her Emperor’s Edge series. I am pretty much in love with Sicarius, and I have a warm place in my heart set aside for Amaranthe and the rest of the cast of her motley crew.

That being said there was something a bit different with this installment. It wasn’t bad… far from it, but it didn’t seem to have the same punch as the previous books. When I started feeling this way (about 40% in) I decided to have a look at some of the other reviews to see if I was the only one who was feeling like that. It seems as if a few people have also picked up on the same ‘funk’ I was feeling. I read a number of the 4 star reviews and I agreed with a lot of points they were making.

This is still a great addition to the EE series, it gives us some great one liner’s that had me chuckling, one of which spouted from the mouths of Maldynado, the star of this book and Yara as shown below:

“You better not be dead. This team is already overflowing with ankle spankers. I was looking forward to having more women around.” Yara’s eyelids fluttered open. She blinked a few times, focused on him, and frowned. “Ankle spanker? The only thing you’ve got that’ll reach that far is your ego.”

It also cements a few of the emotional ties that have been brewing in the previous books, it linked a number of new elements into the storyline, leaving it quite wide open for the next book, while at other times it closed down previous ties. I don’t know if part of my problem is that sometimes it seemed a little too neat, a little too convenient, a little too rehearsed…

This was the first time really, where economics played a big role and some of the information seemed a little too much for the story… I think it’s a great idea, but I don’t know if the reader needed all that additional information… perhaps there will be a rather complex plot twist later and this plethora of information will all make sense.

There were a few scenes with my favourite assassin, where I wanted to throw my kindle across the room. The tension and build up to the ‘climax’ was starting to grate on my nerves. I understand why things happened why they did, but I wanted more than what we got from the two characters involved. I wanted to feel more from them, I felt a little shut out of their experiences in those moments. That was a first for Lindsay’s books too.

A few other reviews make comment on this book not really giving us any new information, feeling like we’re still in the same place we were at the end of book 4, in some respects I agree, there wasn’t a lot of movement in some areas, but in others there was a lot. For a less, skilled author, I’d say this could have been deemed a ‘filler’ book, but Lindsay packed it with enough to tide me over until the release of book #6 in 2013. I believe there may also be a short story coming out before then also based around these guys. I will happily look forward to that.

Good story Lindsay, but not your best.

A couple of things I noticed:
8% – ‘…a hint of a smile touched Sespian’s his (delete his) lips…’
23% – ‘…Maldynado didn’t (insert know) how to…’

Please Leave a Reply

