NaNoWriMo for reals y’all


Ok, so I figured if I was going to take the time to pretend to myself that I was unofficially going to do NaNo, I may as well take the plunge and do it for real!

SO I DID!!!!

I just signed up on www.nanowrimo.org and they very quickly (almost a little too quickly – like they were laying in wait to pounce on me!) sent me my confirmation email. Despite the very minuscule pause I took before clicking on the ‘Confirm Registration’ link I jumped whole-heartedly into this.

Now I’m not really off to a good start… It’s day two and I’ve not written a word! Actually I did write about 12 words while I was at work, but I ended up not saving that… DOH!

I’ve decided that I’m going to actually reset my counter too, since previous writing isn’t really applicable, and it’ll get a bit confusing when trying to count it out and stuff.

So… you guys can find me on the website under the name Lynxie83!

Wish me luck!

10 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo for reals y’all

  1. Best of luck! I’m not doing NaNo this year, but I think it’s great. Just too many things going on in my life right now to commit to it. Next year, baby, next year.

    Can’t wait to see how you go!

  2. Good luck.

    I am also participating, under my own name.

    • All the best to you too Dave! Perhaps we can be ‘buddies’ on NaNo? Is that the correct term?

      Is this your first Dave? If not, how did you go?!

      • I believe it is the correct term. I tried looking for you just now, but could not find a Lynxie83 If you add me (Dave Higgins) then I should get a link straight to you.

        This is my first NaNoWriMo. I usually write novels very slowly and carefully, so I suspect I will start to hate churning out words so quickly, but I am experimenting to see if a rubbish first draft followed by plenty of editing will produce a reasonable work faster overall.

        • Hrm… I shall look to find you Dave. I am a serial editor, so churning out the words and not editing will be difficult for me, but I will give it a go 🙂

  3. Remember: The Force will be with you. Always.

Please Leave a Reply

