The Look Challenge!


Thanks to Molly for this challenge idea in the lead up to NaNoWriMo!! Her post on this matter was thought-provoking and her teaser for the challenge was intriguing. I’m curious to know more about the story, so I think you should all go check it out too!

The Look Challenge!

The “Look” Challenge is for bloggers who are also writers. It is a way to let others sneak a peek at your work. Here’s how it works. You search your manuscript for the word “look” and copy the surrounding paragraphs into a post to let other bloggers read. Then you tag five blogger/writers to invite them to the challenge.

My excerpt:

First came a dark boot that was attached to a clothed leg. Sorcha stopped breathing. Her back met with something hard. It’s only the wall she practically screamed inside her head in surprise trying to control herself. I’m going to die she thought as more of the dark-eyed fiend came around the corner. His eyes were murderous as they locked onto Sorcha’s, sending her into an internal flurry of preparation to fight this man instead of just giving in. Her face set into a grim mask of hatred as she waited for him to approach.

Almost immediately Sorcha noticed a change in his face. His murderous look turned to one that quickly slid into shock. Confused, Sorcha relaxed slightly, watching the man as he stared at something just above her head.

Sorcha felt her heart stop beating. What could be behind me that is scaring that man? Her hands pressed against cool polished stone behind her as she mentally prepared herself for what was above her. Steadying her breathing, she noticed the black-eyed man had slowly backed away and was trying to escape from the alley. Trying to peek at what was behind her out the corner of her eye as she also watched the man flee, Sorcha’s mind was ticking over as to what could cause that level of fear in a man like that. She felt the polished stone wall behind her vibrate gently and a soft purring sound filtered down to her ears. Walls don’t vibrate like that she struggled to grasp at what was wrong with this situation. Her fingers felt a warmth spread across the wall behind her. Warmth? Her mind finally pieced it together. The scream caught in her throat, her body frozen in place with sudden understanding.

Please don’t panic hissed quietly into her mind.

The scream that had been stuck, erupted in a strangled yelp as she pushed herself forward. Fear gripped her entire body as she forced herself to turn and stare into the brilliant silver eye of a dragon.

Do you have something to share in the Look Challenge? Let me know what you thought of my little teaser in the comments below.

Best of luck to all NaNoWriMo entrants this year! Happy writing.

2 thoughts on “The Look Challenge!

  1. I’m not doing a NaNoWriMo, but if anyone wants to use this snippet, feel free:

    I sat back while I waited for him to arrive, idly picking at a fry and not tasting my burger. I swallowed the pickle and felt it sit in my ball in my stomach, burning acid back up my throat. I checked my watch. Late, he would be late.
    While I waited, I **looked** around. McDonalds. All the same, everywhere in the world. Behind the greasy teenagers sweating at the counter, there were regular shouts and alarms, strident, short beeps that drilled through even the repulsive radio noise above my head. A girl wandered between customers, chewing gum with lazy indifference and wiping a clean table with a dirty rag.
    A squadron of children buzzed by me, swooped, broke formation, then reformed, dive bombing into their fries and spreading red remains of burger and ketchup across the creamy white battlefield of the table. There were screams of delight from one side of the table and disgust from the other when one flicked globules of milkshake from the end of his straw.The parents, uncaring, un-noticing, lost in their own worlds of text messaging and endless, endless phone calls, chewed with bovine equanimity, digging and filling food into their mouths with mechanical efficiency.What a way to spend my fortieth birthday.
    I looked at my watch again. Bloody. Late.

    • I think my fav line: A squadron of children buzzed by me, swooped, broke formation, then reformed, dive bombing into their fries and spreading red remains of burger and ketchup across the creamy white battlefield of the table.

      I like that visual 😀

      Great teaser Tony!

Please Leave a Reply

