What’s white, consists of paper, and is something that you can read?


The new Amazon Kindle Paperwhite!

I have to share this awesomeness that has just rocked my world!

Hubby has managed to secure a zillion good husband points for this ‘just because’ gift that arrived yesterday. He knows how much I LOVE my kindle and since the paperwhite wasn’t available to buy for my birthday last month, he still kept it on his list of things to buy and surprise, surprise it arrived without me knowing!

Today I ripped the cardboard packaging, which is black instead of the drab brown that it normally is, and whipped the kindle out to look at it!

The first thing I noticed was how light it was. I have been used to carrying around my kindle keyboard with the leather cover that comes with the in-built light. The cover weighs more than the kindle! So when I picked up the new paperwhite, I almost threw it across the room because it is so light!

Here’s a few pictures for you to drool over check out of my new kindle! (please excuse the appallingly chipped and ratty nail polish!)

The cover also has a cool embossed metal clasp that closes nicely with a magnet. It also puts the kindle to sleep like the iPads do.

The inside of the cover has kindle embossed also, and the screen, it’s awesome!

That’s me at 51% through Unjust Cause by Jaclyn A Wilson. You can kind of see the kindle on the left side of the photo on the inside of the cover if you squint and hold your tongue right.

Here is a photo comparing the kindles, with their screens on. This was taken in my study with a rather yellow light. Normally I wouldn’t have my light on and I’d be able to read the screen fine, but it’s just fantastic on the paperwhite.

If you’re keen to find out more about the Kindle Paperwhite, you can check out the details here.

Do any of you have the new kindle too? What are your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “What’s white, consists of paper, and is something that you can read?

  1. I’ve resisted using a Kindle for the longest time, but I just recently asked for one for Christmas. I do have a question: is there a page number function? I know they mention one on Amazon’s website, but I want to ask a real kindle user.
    I’m really glad you like the paperwhite, that’s the version I am wanting as well. Thanks for the review!

    • No… they don’t have a “page number” system. They do have a location code (on all kindle models I’ve had) but the new Paperwhite also has a ‘time left in the chapter/book’ feature which based on how quickly you read the page will count down how long you have left to go. Pretty neat. My guess as to why they don’t have page numbers, is because of how you can modify the text on the screen. You can change the font size, the line spacing and on the Paperwhite, even the font itself and the page margins. So compared to a traditional book, you have a set amount of space, on the kindle you have differing amounts of space depending on how you set it up for yourself, so page numbers then become irrelevant unless they did like ‘you’re currently on page 215, 215.5’ for example.

      I find now that I don’t even notice page numbers or location codes for books (except actual books) the % amount works fine on websites like Goodreads to keep track of things. I hope that answers your question.

  2. Oh, I so want one!

  3. Oh my god, it’s beautiful! I’m totally jealous!

Please Leave a Reply

