NaNoWriMo


NaNoWriMo = National Novel Writing Month

For those of you who might not have known that little piece of information, now you do. It’s in the month of November every year and thousands of people spend hours bent over their keyboards each year to hammer out 50,000 words of a novel in one month!! Crazy hey!?

What does that have to do with me? Well, I’m not officially joining in, I don’t think I could handle the burning shame if I didn’t get to the 50,000 words. Instead, to steel myself for next year, when I DO plan on registering, I thought I’d try my hand at it unofficially this year. I’ll keep my tally in the bar over there to the right. You’ll see that little dude (who’s currently typing away) making all kinds of crazy when I update my word count, so be on the look out for that.

If you’re keen to have a counter too, you can get the information you need from here.

Anyway, this was just a short one to let you all know I haven’t died, and instead I’ve promised to myself to at least get to 25,000 words by the end of November, but aiming for the 50,000 is the ultimate goal! I would really love you all to try and keep me on track for that! You officially have my permission to poke, question, bitch at, scream at and generally pester me if you don’t see that counter move!

Are any of you trying out NaNoWriMo this year? Have you previously? How did you go? Tell us all in the comments below!

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I am going to try this year (baring terrible events) as I have written over 800 words an hour but usually produce much less as I keep pausing to edit. I am hopeful the need to write 1667 words a day will force me to stop parallel editing.

  2. Good luck with your goal! You shouldn’t feel ashamed if you don’t win. Real life sometimes gets in the way of what we want.

    I’m doing NaNo for the fifth time this year. I’ve won three times out of four (last year was terrible), and I’m pretty excited for this year! =]

  3. Wow! Good luck with you NaNoWriMo trial run! I don’t think I have the energy to write a novel that fast. Although when you break it down into 200 – 300 words a day every day, it seems a lot more feasible. Most people seem to have a very good plan of what they want to write every day, and I like to wing it 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

