Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs


4 stars!

It seems to me, that this book divides readers quite extremely. There are avast number of people who rate this as a 1 or 2 star book, while many others rate it a 5. I think it depends what you go into this expecting.

I didn’t have any concept for what type if book this was. I had heard it was a YA, mysterious and slightly creepy read, yet I found it to be anything but creepy.

People have likened this book to x-men. I can see some similarities, sure. But are there any truly original books these days?

The characters were likable, I felt like you slowly got to know them more throughout the story, much like building friendships in real life. The children’s peculiarities were different and mostly well explained and explored.

I like where the book left off.

The photos at times added to the story and at others, just seemed placed there for convenience. They weren’t really needed.

Despite that, I did enjoy Miss Peregrine’s! If you feel like delving into the Welsh countryside on a little backwards island, experiencing the lives if some peculiar children, give this book a go. You may be surprised at how much you enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. Interesting that the scores are poles apart. I can’t imagine giving anyone 1 star for a book (how odd). I like the cover and the story sounds interesting 😉

    • I have given a 1 star for a couple of books, not that many though. It seems a vast majority are in the 4-5 star range, but more than normal also gave it a 1-2 star rating. It’s all a little strange really, why these books work for some and not others. Maybe it’s how you go into it? If it’s been built up by others for you, then you might be more inclined to be disappointed.

Please Leave a Reply

