Review of The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett


3 stars!!

Welcome to the first installment of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series. It may cause fits of head scratching, general feelings of unease, confusion or make you stare blankly into space. One dose may also cause a rather frustratingly urgent need to read more. Best taken in pairs, as it will leave you wanting a chaser.

At first, I was less than pleased. It is a lot to take in, with all the different words for things and the slightly odd way the characters talk. This probably continued until the second little story in this. That one just seemed to make everything click and it all started to make sense.

The humor is a little hit and miss. Sometimes it was amusing, but others not so much. I didn’t enjoy it enough to put it on my smirk-worthy shelf.

By the end of the book, the sheer size of this world and the vast and illogical order to it started to make more sense and even had me guessing what would happen next.

Terry’s writing style will not be for everyone, the humor neither, but if you do pick this book up, give it until the third part before you make up your mind, you may be surprised by your reaction.

6 thoughts on “Review of The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

  1. I love Terry Pratchett and the Discworld. Pratchett is one of my absolute favourite writers, and his books have been a huge influence on my own writing style. He’s clever, witty, and his stories are so well put-together that they can be examined on any number of levels and never found wanting.

    And that’s why I absolutely NEVER recommend this book.

    The Colour of Magic was the first Discworld book, and it was what got him started, but it’s actually very little like the rest of the Discworld series. There are much, much better books to read when starting the series. (And don’t even get me started on The Light Fantastic!) I generally recommend people start with Guards! Guards! and go from there. Or Soul Music for a different perspective. Or… I’ll stop. I could go on forever.

    • I see! Perhaps I should have started somewhere other than the start!

      • If that was your first introduction to the series, PLEASE read another one.

        If you’re like me and like to start at the beginning and work your way through, start at number four with Mort. Or just skip straight to Guards! Guards! as I said before.

        Just don’t judge the series on The Colour of Magic. And don’t even bother reading The Light Fantastic (possibly at all, definitely not until you’ve read a lot more books in the series). Equal Rites is okay, but still not as good as the later books – – and there are inconsistencies between it and the later books about those characters. So, again, leave it for later.

        And now I’ll shut up. 🙂

        • I plan to try another Jo, it just might take me a while. It wasn’t bad, just not really what I was expecting.

          I will take your advice though and think about taking my next steps into Discworld in book 4 or 5

          • Yay! Considering the size of your TBR list, I’ll feel like I’ve done my bit to recommend my favourite series if you read another Discworld book in 5 years! 🙂

        • While I agree that Equal Rites is weaker than many of the others (I rarely re-read it), I like both Colour and Light. They might not be as accessible as later works but have a high density of new ideas.

Please Leave a Reply

