A question for the blogosphere!


I was discussing the other night with my husband about the need to set aside some time to write up my blog posts. His reaction to that astounded me.

Yep, my face was something like that.

His thoughts were that a blog post should take no more than a few minutes, 10-15 at most to construct and send out into the world. This appalled me, it shocked me, it made me question if I was doing this right or not.

My posts, depending on what they’re about can take me anywhere from 15 minutes to a few hours if I’m not sure about the photos I want to use, or I need to do some research or I want to link back to a whole bunch of sites. Also, one of the things I tend to do is when I get an idea I’ll start a blog post and save it as a draft with the idea in it, to flesh it out later when I have the time to put into it, so that post could take me days or weeks to complete! I stockpile interesting or strange photos in my media library while I’m searching for specific photos. I constantly scour the internet pages I frequent hoping to walloped over the head with inspiration or see a topic that brings forth strong emotion in me.

My dear blog followers… I can’t be the only one that agonises over my word choice, primps and primes my post repeatedly (much like the 52 outfit changes a woman goes through before a first date) and otherwise exudes various other OCD tendancies?

Do you do the same? Am I strange (well, stranger than normal) in this blogosphere? How long does it take you to come up with a blog post and release it to the world?

13 thoughts on “A question for the blogosphere!

  1. Unless I am struck by an fully complete idea while doing something else that needs no editing, I have spent at least an hour on each of my posts.

    I tend to write a draft then edit it into a final post later in the day, so I produce posts faster than other writing, but otherwise treat it as if it were “proper” writing (because it is).

  2. Yep, I spend a couple of hours minimum, writing and researching what I´m, unless it´s a poem or something I´ve already written in advance, but I still edit and double check for a good half an hour before I publish. Different strokes for different folks I guess. There´s no hard and fast rule. You should tell your hubby to take a bit more care and attention with his, and post a photo of his reaction. 🙂

    • Hi padraigoconnor, thanks for stopping by. I agree I should tell him to take more care, but he doesn’t blog himself so he really didn’t know what he was talking about anyway. Knowing him though, if he did blog it probably would only take him about 10mins for a perfectly worded post. He’s really annoying like that! 😛

  3. I don’t think I’ve come across anyone who takes 10-15 minutes for a blog post. Except, possibly, if you’re just sharing a link or YouTube video you found.

    A few people I know specifically limit themselves to 40 minutes, setting their alarm 40 minutes earlier than they’d normally get up for work. That way they’ve got a hard limit for when they have to be done.

    As for me, a quick post takes me about half an hour (including time to find an appropriate picture). An average post takes me about an hour. And one where I’m utilising actual research, rather than just my opinion, or linking to other articles and the like, can take me two hours or more. (I probably spent about 3 hours on my post about authors buying reviews.)

    • I think 40mins to 1hr is a good decent amount of time for an average post. My review posts don’t take as long because it’s usually just a copy and paste from my review on GR, but I add the photo and some additional stuff if I feel the need.

      I think hubby sees this as quite a lot of work for something that started out as a project for my CIT work. I don’t think it’ll finish when the CIT class does. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Jo.

      • If you blog regularly, it IS a lot of work. My husband has occasionally asked me whether I should be spending so much time blogging instead of using the time for writing. (Especially because I’m more inclined to postpone writing than blogging, because I feel I’m on more of a deadline here.) But I see blogging as an extension to my writing career.

        1. It’s practice writing. No, it’s not on my novel. But at least one post a week is flash fiction, which is creative writing. And the rest of my posts are creative non-fiction. And I can seriously tell how much my writing has improved when I *shudder* read some of my early blog posts!

        2. Networking. I’ve met so many great people online from all over the world, including winning a query critique from a NY literary agent and engaging various published authors in conversations. And having people in the industry know my name is never going to be a bad thing!

        3. An audience. Because I also blog about parenting and write opinion-pieces, I have a lot of readers who aren’t writers. And, perhaps surprisingly, the non-writers are the ones who are always the most enthusiastic about my flash fiction — and the ones who are most vocal about encouraging me to get my novel finished and published. When that finally happens, I’m confident that, even if not every one of my blog subscribers buys a copy, I’ll have long-term blogging friends to publicise it.

        There are other reasons as well, but I’m going to stop cluttering up your blog now. 🙂

        • I agree with your points. I think exercising our creative part of our brain through regular blog posts means we gain a better understanding of our writing style and voice.

          I only hope that in 12 months I’ll have as interesting and well written articles as you Jo 🙂

          P.S. you’d never be considered cluttering my blog 😀

  4. 15 mins to a few hours- that sounds like me! Plus other time thinking/scouting for ideas, in the checkout line, in the shower, at traffic lights…I’m learning that once you start writing and blogging, you never really stop. Maybe that’s what the “strange”-ness is all about, just having the headspace of a writer??
    That method of collecting ideas to flesh out later is really useful…have just learnt the value of writing my post in word and pasting it across, as WordPress has swallowed my work more than once now :/ Cheers!

    • Ah!! Awesome another person who takes after my post-madness. 😀

      I will have to tell hubby he’s married a writer. Wait, he should know that already! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Kathy, glad I could share the pre-post-writing strategy with you 🙂

  5. No, it’s not strange at all. I spend varying amounts of time on my blog posts, from 5 minutes if I’ve just found a cool link (like the movie trailer or whatever) to an hour or even more if I really go on off on a subject or make lots of links. I’d spend more time on it, if I could. I love writing.

    And the agonising over every word? I do that too. Writing is painful for me, but that’s just me. I’m obviously subconsciously a masochist because I love the things that hurt the most the best (be it torturing myself with getting everything perfect in a story, sitting through long tattoo sessions or picking only the most painful sports like static trapeze or Thai Kick boxing.) I’m a bit weird like that.

Please Leave a Reply

