Indie authors unite in my TBR list (books #1-20)


I mentioned in my earlier post on my TBR list that the top 50 or so books are mostly taken up by indie authors. I thought I’d introduce you to a few of them here. I spent a bit of time earlier going through and reshuffling some of my books around to formulate my top 50. I had a number of books by the same authors all in a row, so I’ve now spread them out a bit to make sure I don’t get too bogged down by any one writing style.

Since I haven’t read any of these books yet, I can’t really tell you too much in-depth information about them, but I’ll fill you in with whatever I can.

#4 – Wolf Pear by Dianne F. Gray

I stumbled across Dianne’s books through WordPress and her blog, she stopped by my blog one day and commented on a post of mine. Since that day (only a few weeks ago!) I’ve had a bit of a peek through her book list. Not only is she a fellow Aussie, but she’s an award-winning author! Imagine my surprise when she commented on my blog! Wolf Pear is a murder/mystery/suspense novel based in Australia. It sounds a little cooky when you read the blurb, but it also sounds intriguing. Currently it’s got 5 out of 5 based on two reviews. Sounds promising Dianne!!

#9 – Jane of the Jungle by Jane Baskin

This book has received 5 ratings and 3 reviews, averaging out at 4.40 out of 5. With the tag line: A widow hits the road to outrun her bills and aided by a mobster and a tiger, finds the adventure of a lifetime. It seems to be something of an adventure with a not so common protagonist.

#10 – The Moon Dwellers (The Dwellers #1) by David Estes

This is David’s new series. He’s just about to release #2 in the series in October I believe, so I’d best get to reading this one. He’s managed to secure 142 ratings and 92 reviews which brings his average to 4.25 out of 5. Pretty good! This is a Dystopian/Young Adult story which captured my interest when I read the blurb on Goodreads. I recently finished up reading David’s first series (Evolution) and I’m keen to read some more by him.

#13 – Eight Mile Island by Tony Talbot

You can read some more about Tony’s books in an interview with him from my previous blog post.

#16 – Unjust Cause by Jaclyn A Wilson

Interestingly, this book has been reviewed by another author I’ve only recently found and it got 5 out of 5 from them. Unjust Cause has only got 4 ratings and 2 reviews giving it a current score of 4.25.  The reviews tell us we’ll like the characters and we’re in for a ride.  It looks like this book was only published this year in March. I am looking forward to delving into this story based in Panama.

#17 – Sanctuary by Colleen Wait

Colleen has a few books on my TBR list. She very kindly provided me with a copy of every book she has available on Goodreads. I’ve read two of her books already, one of which you can see my review here. Sanctuary currently doesn’t have any reviews, but has 2 ratings (sitting at 4.50). The blurb for this book provides us with an interesting concept: We’ve all read the doomsday books, seen the doomsday movies.  However, have you ever wondered – what happens next? What if someone survived and rose to the challenge of starting a new society and getting it right?  What if that someone said, “God saved me for a reason and I’m going to do things His way this time.”  ‘Sanctuary’ is the story of one girl’s journey through that possibility.

#19 – Prince of Alasia by Annie Douglass Lima

Currently sitting at 4.44 from 9 ratings/8 reviews, Annie’s Prince of Alasia is sitting pretty. A tale of adventure and saving the kingdom from destruction, this tale seems to be for YA adult fans and adventure fans. I speak with Annie in my Goodreads group, she frequents my topics and shares her advice and thoughts. Annie has also released In the Enemy’s Service which is based in the same world as Prince of Alasia.

#20 – Zed by Stephen Herfst

Zed is not your typical zombie. He is cursed with the affliction of thought… although he tries to make the best of a bad situation. The goals for his unrest are simple: to improve his stride, to taste a lightly seared pork loin once again and avoid Activists at all costs.

Who wouldn’t be intrigued by that opening paragraph? I know I certainly was excited when Stephen approached me and asked if I’d review his book! I’m pretty sure I’d have read it if I’d stumbled across it on my own. As it stands at the moment, Zed has received 29 ratings/28 reviews and is sitting at 4.17 stars. The Genre tags indicate this is a horror and humor… interesting mix!

What indie authors have you come across? Share the love for some of your favourites by leaving a comment below!!

Please Leave a Reply

