Review of Archangel Evolution by David Estes


Book #3 from David Estes evolution trilogy.

3 stars

The final instalment of the Evolution Trilogy from David Estes was good. Archangel Evolution saw the end of the trilogy close, but left enough of a story there for another book if David so desired. Perhaps not part of this set of books, but maybe another one set at a later time, with different characters, in the same world after the events in the Evolution Trilogy.

All the usual characters were back in this story, but I felt like it was all a little too happy. The raw emotion of the first book seemed to be missing in this one. Perhaps it was a change in David’s writing style, I’m not sure, but I didn’t feel as connected with Taylor, Gabriel, Sam or Chris in this book.

I did feel like Sam got a bit more of a look in, as we got to see a bit more of her which was nice, though at one point I did want to throttle her for being so silly. (Wanting make-up over food!! I mean really?)

Monkeys are not marsupials!

Yes, rather random I know, but there’s two points in the book where monkeys are labelled marsupials. Unless there’s a breed of monkey out there that gives birth to live young and carries them around in a pouch that I’m not aware of, then the use of this word is incorrect.

The editing on this book was good. I didn’t pick up a single error 🙂

I wanted to know more about Rocky, there seemed to be a lot of backstory about Taylor and Rocky, yet it didn’t really come into play in the books. Was it just filler? I think not, but it didn’t seem to have much of a purpose. I also enjoyed the characters Sampson and Kiren; I’d like to have known more about them, about their relationship.

Overall, I liked the book, but the ending was too neat, the climax was a bit ‘wishy-washy’ and just seemed to ‘happen’ rather than be constructed. This made it a bit harder to swallow.

I would recommend this trilogy to all YA fans, to people who enjoy a light-hearted paranormal romance (since that’s a bit of that throughout) or younger teens from about age 13-14 and up.

Additional information

You can read up about the first two books on David’s author page on Goodreads. David is a very active Goodreads user and always welcomes chatting with friends and fans. You can also see his group on Goodreads that was set up by fans. David has recently released a new Dystopian series (book 1 available and book 2 about to be released. I’ve not read it yet, but it’s on my TBR list.

2 thoughts on “Review of Archangel Evolution by David Estes

  1. Thanks for the excellent review.I’m eager to read this book.I’ve read the first part of this book and the topic is interesting.

Please Leave a Reply

