Bookshelves! A look at my ‘Read’ shelf


One way to sort your books on Goodreads (or at home) is by shelves. You can be creative with your shelving or you can use generic shelf names. I have a number of more creative names for my shelves on GR, which I will do a blog post on later in the month. It certainly helps to have some order in your books, especially when you have over 1600 books to sort.

The generic shelf names on GR are:

  • Read
  • To-Read
  • Currently-Reading

Let’s explore one of these in a bit more detail. Since I discussed my TBR list in a previous post I won’t go into it again today.

On my read shelf I currently have 322 books. These read books span from those I read all the way back in the year 2000 up until today and include a spattering of different genres, from romance to science fiction, to fantasy, to young adult, to paranormal romance and a large number more. I would consider myself very broad in my genre tastes; I will pretty much give anything a go even though I prefer fantasy and paranormal romance.

Out of the 322 books 79 have received 5 star ratings, while only 4 have received 1 star ratings. I think this is not because I’m liberal with my 5 star reviews, but a tribute to the level of writing in the books I’ve read. Each 5 star rating belongs to a well-constructed book, with likeable, believable characters that really got me interested in the story. Some of which are on my ‘Books I recommend’ page at the top of my blog.

Most of my other shelves are ones I apply to the book after I’ve read it. I will introduce you to some of those and the books that make themselves at home on them later.

What about you? Do you read a variety of genres or do you generally stick to one or two? Have you got some great books that you think I should read? A favourite author who writes the BEST books?! Let me know by way of a comment and I’ll give them a go!

5 thoughts on “Bookshelves! A look at my ‘Read’ shelf

  1. Pingback: What’s the Want to Read Button? « Deb's Answers

  2. I like to read a variety of books! I will always try to get books by authors I’ve never heard of, because that’s really the only way to get any new, fresh reading material. As far as great books go… I would recommend The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Green, anything by Sophie Kinsella (my favourites are I’ve Got Your Number and Twenties Girl), The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder, aaaand Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Awesome book!

    • Hi Zen!
      I’ve heard of The Night Circus, but I’ve not read it yet. I’ll have to check out Matthew Green, Jostein Gaarder and Sophie Kinsella too. I’ve actually read Ender’s Game, it’s one of my favourite books from school, totally awesome.

      I too am always on the look out for new books and authors. Which is why the top 50 or so books on my To Be Read list is by indie authors. 😀 Keep an eye out for my post coming up about those authors.

      Thanks for stopping by and for the suggestions.

  3. Are you sure you want to add more to your TBR list, ha! As evidenced on my blog, I seem to read a great deal of sci-fi these days, but I also don’t mind a good old true life adventure or survival story. Have you ever read any Isobelle Carmody? The Darkfall series is an amazing one, though it isn’t finished yet. Also, I always enjoy everything I read by Neil Gaiman, especially American Gods, that is one of my favourites.

    • Of course! I can never have enough on my TBR list! 😀

      I haven’t read anything by either of those authors, although I think I have one of Isobelle Carmody’s books at home. I don’t think it’s the Darkfall series though. The book by Neil Gaiman – American Gods sounds very good. I’ve added that one to the list and bumped it up to #98, not #1648.

      Thanks!

Please Leave a Reply

