The man who doesn’t read…


The man who doesn’t read has no advantage over the man who can’t read.

— Mark Twain

One of my favourite things about my kindle is the ability to highlight my favourite quotes from the books I read. I can then happily locate them on the kindle’s ‘My clippings’ entry.

What makes a good quote?

I think it comes down to the words resonating with the reader. Be it, by inspiring them or making them smile, making them cry or by just being well crafted. One can appreciate a well-crafted verse of another author, I find this particularly true for readers who are writers too.

I have found quotes from a huge range of books, magazines, tweets and blog posts. Some of them serious, others funny and some that probably don’t mean all that much to others, yet they amuse me. So, with the act of sharing in mind, I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite quotes and see if you too enjoy them.

“It’s too bad that stupidity isn’t painful.”  ~ Anton LaVey

“Slaying dragons, melting witches, and banishing demons is all fun and games until someone loses a sidekick – then it’s personal. The bad guy isn’t just the “bad guy” anymore, he’s the BAD GUY!” ~ Michael J. Sullivan.  This is from one of his blog posts about his Riyria Revelations series.

This one actually made me laugh out loud in the middle of the office. I happen to have quite a strong English background so I can totally relate to this one:

“I’m English. We’re about as tactful as a hot poker up the bum, most of the time.” ~ L.H. Thomson, The Antique Hunters

This one made me think about the truth behind it:

“Fact is just fiction with different storytellers” ~ Abby Slovin, Letters In Cardboard Boxes

There are certainly enough books and stories that highlight potential conspiracies within the news world. What if we’re being told what the government wants us to hear and not what is actually happening?

This one really just created a great mental image for me. The book in itself was pretty screwed up. I didn’t really enjoy it, but I still got this and a few other quotes from it:

“The elflocks of the crowd were every color of the rainbow, as was the light from their eyes that shone through the mask of the Arkadian winter night. Some of them had wings, but not gauzy gossamer tattooist fabulosities. The wing’d ones among them bore twin sails at their backs, reptilian bat bones folded and hooded just above their heads in taloned, Gothic arches of epidermis.” ~ Edward Morris, Blood of Eden: A Tragedy in Three Acts

To be honest, I’m not sure why I like this, but it seems I’m not the only one. Several people on Goodreads have also liked this quote:

“I stared at my broccoli with all kinds of menace.” ~ Juliann Whicker, Hotblood

Another one that made me laugh out loud for real. Flat-Out Love is a brilliant book. If I could quote the whole book I would. I think everyone should read it.

“Why is luge a sport? You dress up like a giant sperm and go sledding really fast. That’s hardly athletic. Phallic and sexy, yes. But hardly athletic.” ~ Jessica Park, Flat-Out Love

What are some of your favourite quotes?

Are they from books you’ve read or perhaps a catchy slogan from an advertisement or the lyrics of a song?

Do they inspire you? Make you smile or make you sad?

4 thoughts on “The man who doesn’t read…

  1. I’m always finding quotes I love but then I never write them down and so forget them…I should start listing them, as more often than not they make me feel good when I read them or I can relate 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

