Aussie colloquialisms


I was chatting with a colleague at work the other day and he spouted this fantastically vivid line that almost made me dizzy with delight. It got me to thinking about the Aussie colloquialisms (yes I had to google search that to spell it correctly! I hope I’m not alone in that), this also ties in with a discussion I had with Tony Talbot on Facebook, to assist him with coming up with some neologic profanity for his new piece of work. What does that have to do with Aussie slang and colloquialisms you ask!? Well Tony actually asked me if I knew of any Aussie slang that might be appropriate.

Now I don’t know if the ideas I provided Tony will make it into his new book (how awesome would that be?! <- and there’s that interrobang I mentioned in a previous blog post!) but I thought I might share some of the interesting, quirky, humorous and otherwise bizarre lines and words us Aussies may or may not use in everyday life. Hold onto your hats people, things are about to get a bit ocker in here!

Just in case you didn’t know what ocker means: A thing or person characterised by their (usually extreme) Australian-ness. Especially refers to persons with heavy Australian accents and mannerisms.

Let’s begin:

  • Flat out like a centipede skipping ~ had a busy day
  • The winner is harder to pick than a broken nose ~ it’s really hard to pick the winning entry
  • Couldn’t pull the skin off custard ~ refering to an old powerless car
  • Full as a Dr’s wallet. Full as a bull’s bum in the spring time ~ after eating a huge meal
  • Dumb as a box full of hammers ~ referring to someone who is stupid
  • Blind as a welders dog ~ to be extremely drunk
  • Lower than a snakes belly ~ an expression of contempt about someone
  • It’d put a horn on a jellyfish ~ when something is incredibly awesome
  • To live off the smell of an oily rag ~ to live extremely cheaply
  • Bushman’s clock ~ a kookaburra
  • Two pot screamer ~ someone who gets drunk on very little alcohol

And we’re off and racing… you might need a drink to quench your thirst.

  • Earbashing ~ to talk incessantly
  • Dag ~ an affectionate insult for someone who is, or is perceived to be, unfashionable, lacking self-consciousness about their appearance and/or with poor social skills yet affable and amusing
  • Blotto ~ Incredibly drunk
  • Tucker ~ food
  • Galah ~ a fool (but is also a grey and pink native bird)
  • Yabber ~ to talk
  • Bodgie ~ fake, inferior, worthless or poorly made
  • Hoon ~ a lout or hooligan

That’s just a few choice words and sayings for you.

One final thing for you, just because I stumbled across this rather amusing photo while looking for the photos I picked above:

It reads:

Dear Bogans,

It’s ‘You’, not ‘Yous’, there’s no such word.

Sincerely,

The English Language  

Share with us some of your local colloquialisms or slang. Have you heard some strange ones that you didn’t understand? Put them in the comments below and fill us all in :)

5 thoughts on “Aussie colloquialisms

  1. The yous thing is interesting. I reckon eventually yous or youse will come into accepted use because in English we have no word for you plural as many other languages do. So the bogans are actually innovating in a way that makes sense.

  2. I’ve always liked ‘Mad as a cut snake’ and ‘Flat out like a lizard drinking’. I remember once when a politician got sick from eating the food at Parliament House he said, ‘the food in this place would kill a brown dog” (brown dogs are notorious for being able to eat anything without ever getting sick) :D

    Loving football as I do – I also like ‘banana benders’ Queenslanders and ‘cockroaches’ NSW

  3. Well, I’ll go to the foot of our stairs, that’s quite a list. (Still thinking of more…)

Please Leave a Reply

